Pay It Forward · Pictures · Quotes · Review · Writing

Short Story Reviews #1

I’ve been reading a lot of short stories lately and my reviews for them are usually brief and to the point, so there’s not enough to put in an individual post. I’ve decided that I need to broadcast these great stories more, so I’m going to compile around 10 or so shorts into one review post. Here’s the 1st of what I hope will be many:

ac6e1-lineseparator

download

Book: Mr Fingers

Author: C.N. Faust

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: This story was vile, creepy, dark and disgusting – all things a great Vile Novella should be. It was very well done.
I’m already a big fan of this author, but this is a new genre, exploring the darker side and I love it. I’m not really a fan of horror or really creepy books, but this one was just on that cusp of being enjoyable without making me want to throw up.

ac6e1-lineseparator

22390677

Book: Ben, My Valentine

Author: G. Hardmen

Rating: ★★★★☆

Review: I love the romance of the story. I’m not particularly a fan of 1st person stories, with little or no dialogue, but the story shone through on this one and it wasn’t a problem. I did find the sex to be a little clinical and too easy for a first time. I get that they were both eager, after years apart, but there was very little hesitation, discomfort etc.

ac6e1-lineseparator

17379076

Book: In The Flesh

Author: Joseph Eastwood

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I really loved this book. ‘Donation’, ‘Wrapped’ and ‘End’ were my favourites, though ‘Wrapped’ was by far the best. There was some amazing imagery and emotional connections made throughout the story.

My favourite line:
“Love is a dirty job, love’s a flighty being,
Love is painful, and the bastard is all-seeing.”

I really loved the flash fiction at the end as well. Five stars all the way!

ac6e1-lineseparator

22359691

Book: Invicta: Salvation (Invicta #1)

Author: Piper Kay

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Loved everything about it. The story, the characters, the hot hotness. This one will leave you somewhere between hot-under-the-collar and feeling-the-feels for the characters and their stories.

ac6e1-lineseparator

16035867

Book: A Princess of Fae

Author: Bob Craton

Rating: ★★★★☆

Review: There’s a really good intro to the story, with a great start. It’s immediately interesting, intriguing and funny. It made me smile early on and had me giggling to myself. I love the little design details at the start of every chapter; they’re really unique and different. The whole story feels like a twisted fairy tale for adults. I’m not normally a fan of an ‘author’ talking to the reader throughout the story, but this seems appropriate and funny for this story. There’s a lot of mentioning and referencing other books/authors etc: George and the Dragon, Game of Thrones, Wuthering Heights. Unfortunately, too much of a good think spoils it – the character/book/other author references and the characters discussing the author tends to wear a little after the 70% mark. The Bergren, Ulva and Wildefolk story sounds really good, but we don’t get much. It’s a ‘potential’ sequel, which I’m really looking forward to.

ac6e1-lineseparator

19376879

Book: Like and Subscribe

Author: Jay Bell

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: This was a stunning book. It was enjoyable from start to finish, with great characters and a really good plot. I couldn’t put it down. I really loved Evan; he was such a heartwarming, realistic character and I’d love to read more about him. I knew from the end of the party that things wouldn’t quite work out seamlessly, but it wasn’t until the kiss that I saw the direction it would go. I giggled, I squealed in excitement and I talked to all the characters. Overall, it was a fantastic book and I even did that ‘happy sigh’ at the end, when it ended perfectly.

ac6e1-lineseparator

23114767

Book: For the Frat Boy (Frat Gay for You #1)

Author: Chad Lane

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Amazing, brilliant. Everything that I’ve come to expect from Chad Lane. Loved it and can’t wait to read the next one.

ac6e1-lineseparator

18668559

Book: Bridget and Joan’s Diary

Author: Bridget Golightly

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: This is an amazing, brilliant book. Like a little black book of one-liners. I just want to highlight and quote the whole damned thing!

ac6e1-lineseparator

22596315

Book: Un/Common Ground (Love’s Landscapes)

Author: Arielle Pierce

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Gut-wrenching, sweet, lovely, beautiful – will break your heart.

ac6e1-lineseparator

21842286

Book: UNCUT

Author: Dean Cole

Rating: ★★★★☆

Review: I liked this. It was a nice mix of the obscure and funny, with the sweet and lovely. I especially loved the story ‘Room for Rent’. It was my favourite.

ac6e1-lineseparator

20419871

Book: My Granny Writes Erotica #2

Author: Rosen Trevithick

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Even better than the first one. A laugh-a-minute, laugh-out-loud revolving door of giggles.

ac6e1-lineseparator

21935975

Book: Dancing Barefoot – A Gay Lunch Hour Romance (By Any Other Name #2)

Author: G.R. Richards

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I didn’t realise I’d read this before book 1, but it really didn’t affect the reading experience at all. It was a great short story, with great characters and the perfect treat for when you have a spare ten minutes to read.

ac6e1-lineseparator

Leave a Reply

