Pay It Forward · Pictures · Quotes · Review · Writing

Short Story Reviews #2

ac6e1-lineseparator

download (2)

Book: Blood on Silk (Awakened by Blood series #1)

 

Author: Marie Treanor

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I really loved this book – and not just because the author comes from Glasgow (I’m also Scottish). I loved the characterisation, the changing POV’s and the way the story developed. You were instantly introduced to both lead characters, with no wavering and no nonsense. The story started from page one and then continued expanding, growing and changing until the very last page. I won’t give any spoilers, but I will say that this book has action, adventure, mystery, paranormal tang and a lot of great romance. Can’t wait for Book 2.

ac6e1-lineseparator

download (1)

Book: Blood Sin (Awakened by Blood series #2)

Author: Marie Treanor

Rating: ★★★★☆

Review: I enjoyed his book, but not as much as the first one. I think the whole Adam Simon thing put me off a little. It just wasn’t the Saloman/Elizabeth relationship I’d got used to in the first book. However, once they reached his homeland and left NY and Scotland behind, it got a lot better. More like what I was expecting. Can’t wait to read the next one.

ac6e1-lineseparator

download

Book: Blood Eternal (Awakened by Blood series #3)

Author: Marie Treanor

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: For me, this was the best in the series. I waned a little reading Book 2, when it was all in NY, but not with this one. It was beautiful from beginning to end. Saloman and Elizabeth’s relationship was solid and more special than ever. I absolutely hate these soppy romance girls who fight their attraction to the Big Bad guy in the book, vampire or not, and then suddenly give in in the end. I think Elizabeth’s journey, of learning about him, accepting and then shying away is much more realistic. Yes, she does the soppy romantic girl party by fighting the attraction in the beginning, when there is distance and separation and vampires are still a myth in her head. She’s an academic, that’s expected.
And in this book, I really liked Luk. Yes, he was crazy but you could also sense a conflict in him somewhere which was interesting. And I really like that Saloman wasn’t just the Big Bad, but that he had heart and soul and was complex. One bad point – I think it ended too abruptly. Either that or I need to stop staying up until 3am reading. I think it might have been nice to have a little Epilogue or something. I know there’s a trilogy about the Hunters as well, but unless they contain Saloman and Elizabeth I won’t be reading them. Mihaela and Konrad really, seriously, bugged the heck out of me in this book more than ever.
Needless to say I almost cried a few times, not telling you where or why. I did, however, see the ending coming though. I saw the thing with Luk and the ‘condition’ that was making Elizabeth ill and the other thing. It’s not a flaw in the story or the way it was put together, just more that the ending was what I would have written. It was perfect.

ac6e1-lineseparator

13424654

Book: Possibilities

Author: Kaje Harper

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Another fantastic installment from Kaje Harper. I’m a huge fan. This story made me cry. It literally broke my heart and I’m not sure I’ll ever recover. I’ll be honest, I didn’t expect that when I saw the cover, since it’s not really what I think best represents the story. But regardless, this was another piece of literary perfection. This story will stay with me for a long time.

ac6e1-lineseparator

6370181

Book: Goldilocks and His Three Bears (Goldilocks #1)

Author: A.M. Riley

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I absolutely LOVED everything about this story. But, I do have to admit that Scott, Paul and Brian tugged at my heartstrings.
The story is amazing. I loved every one and every thing about it. I was like the start of Brian and Scott’s relationship when I read this: giggly, fidgety, gasping, oohing and aahing, hand clamped over my mouth at 2am to keep myself quiet.

ac6e1-lineseparator

12593429

Book: Full Circle

Author: Kaje Harper

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: This story hit me where it hurt. It kept me up all night, made me cry and had my head spinning from the onset of emotions. Kaje Harper is fast becoming my all time favourite MM author. The issues dealt with in this story are heart-wrenching and, sadly, things that do happen in real life. They were explored with delicacy and as little detail as possible to get the point across. The only thing is that I don’t like the cover. It doesn’t fit this story. It should be more emotionally based, since that’s what the whole story is about. The sex in this story is almost irrelevant, compared to the emotional turmoil of the characters

ac6e1-lineseparator

11277601

Book: Life Lessons (Life Lessons #1)

Author: Kaje Harper

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I adored this book. This is my favourite Kaje Harper story so far, and that’s saying a lot. I’ve loved everything I’ve read until now. This one made me laugh, snort, cry, smile…all the embarrassing little things. Snorting in the middle of the night and hoping someone thinks you’re snoring. Choking on a drink because you can’t laugh and swallow at the same time. Unable to read the next line because your eyes are welling up and the writing is jumping all over the place.
This book did it all for me. I love, love, love Tony and Mac and Marty and the kids. They’re bundles of cuteness wrapped up in cotton balls of deliciousness. Once again the author combines a full, intriguing story, this time a murder mystery, with excellent character exploration. There is no HEA with this story, but I like to think there could be. The entire story, down to Mac’s insecurities and the ending, are all believable and the most we could hope for considering the characters. I love it and I think it will become a yearly read for me

ac6e1-lineseparator

And to All A Good Night

Book: And to All A Good Night (Life Lessons #1.5)

Author: Kaje Harper

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Beautiful short, to follow on from Life Lessons. Can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

ac6e1-lineseparator

Getting it Right

Book: Getting it Right (Life Lessons #1.8)

Author: Kaje Harper

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Really nice little Valentine’s short. Sweet and cute. I love the gifts.

ac6e1-lineseparator

Breaking Cover

Book: Breaking Cover (Life Lessons #2)

Author: Kaje Harper

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I can sum this book up in just one word: PERFECT! It’s got the emotion, the heat, the love, the action…everything. The beginning was great as always, the big fight had me in tears and the ending made me happy. I’m so glad this is part of a series. I could spend the rest of my life only reading Kaje Harper’s books and be perfectly content.

ac6e1-lineseparator

15706627

Book: Home Work (Life Lessons #3)

Author: Kaje Harper

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I really love that each book in this series has a plausible arc for the characters, a well thought out and explore crime and a very beleivable progression through the story. I love a good murder mystery, so trying to figure out who did what is a great bonus for me. I love that Mac would never have solved any of these cases since the series began, as far or as efficiently without Tony. They work as a team and that shows in each story. I love that everything is never perfect with them, but somehow they find their way through it.
It’s very sad what happened to Ben, but at least he’s safe with Mac and Tony. I hope they find the guy before the series is over. After the interview with Brittany and Mac, then with the hospital, I cried my way through the rest of the book. But it was the phone call to Roger that really got me. I completely understand Mac’s frustration, because I have a similar problem. It’s so great to see Tony being patient and understanding with him. It’s just beautiful.

ac6e1-lineseparator

Compensations

Book: Compensations (Life Lessons #3.5)

Author: Kaje Harper

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: This short was sad, hilarious, and very nicely answered a lot of my questions from the previous book without tying a big red bow around it. I can see that there’s more to come in the next book, and I love that. I loved the talk with Terrence, though it didn’t have the greatest ending. Now it’s time to work that magic on Loes.

ac6e1-lineseparator

18335673

Book: Learning Curve (Life Lessons #4)

Author: Kaje Harper

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Another winner for me. Perfectly ending the series. Unfortunately I suspected the truth about Shane and Mary’s background, but the fact that Mac was there was even worse than I thought. The murder, the romance, the characters are all as good as before. I was stumped as to who committed the murder and why, and where the dad had gone, until around halfway through.
I’m also really happy that these books are full novel lengths. I sink right into them. I forget how long there is left until I get to a bit that ‘could’ be an ending and I say ‘Don’t finish yet, please’ only to find out I’ve got half the book still to read. It’s a moment of utter relief.
I really love the mention of Harry Potter slash fiction. I love it too and I asked myself the same question ‘What would Harry ever see in Draco’, until I actually read them. Now they’re a bit of an addiction for me. I love, love, loved the ending. It was perfect, but it wasn’t wrapped up in a neat little bow.

ac6e1-lineseparator

Leave a Reply

