Pay It Forward · Quotes · Tips · Writing

Finding Inspiration

** THIS IS A REPOST OF A VERY EARLY BLOG POST **

~

It’s not easy when you’ve hit that brick wall and you don’t know where to go next. Sometimes all you need is to sit back, read what you’ve already got and something clicks, sometimes it’s going away and doing something else.

For me, inspiration usually strikes when I least expect it or when I least have time to follow it.  Take 2013 so far.  On New Year’s I hadn’t written anything worthwhile, not including editing, since before November.  I’d been ill and it had knocked me a good one, so I turned more to reading than writing to spend my time.  Then, suddenly in 2013, just this last two weeks, I decided writing was going nowhere, so I’d reorganise my laptop.  I do it every now and then.

Well, I decided I had far too much music stored away and it was slowing down my processor, so I copied it all onto my external hard drive, and deleted it off the laptop.  Ever since I’ve been working on deleting all the repeats.  It’s so bad, that my external hard drive music folder had 119 GB!  Or did have this morning, before I spent all day removing about 5 GB of that.  And I’m going alphabetically and I’m only on H.  I’ll be here all year at this rate.

But guess what happened.  I’m caught up, listening to my music and reorganising it and BAM! Smacked on the forehead with inspiration.  And it hurt.  I wrote two chapters last week, for one story, came up with the ideas for 3 new chapters for A House Called Harmony and a new story, and about 6 new ideas for blog posts.  That is why it hurt.  That much getting thrown at you at one time has a tendency to do that.

I’m a bit of a conspiracy junkie, anything to do with Marilyn, aliens, JFK, Jack the Ripper etc and I’m engrossed in it.  I was sitting last night trying to decide what I could write about for future blogs when, staring me in the face, literally, was Marilyn Monroe.  I’m obsessed with her.  She’s on every wall in my bedroom.  And from her, I got to conspiracy theory, and from conspiracy theories I got to Jack the Ripper.  Then a funny thing happened…from Jack the Ripper, I thought about the new TV show, Ripper Street, which made me think about Jerome Flynn who plays a character in it, and from there…well, my brain is strangely wired…I got to Robson and Jerome.

I love all music, but I’m a sucker for cheesy pop.  I absolutely loved Robson and Jerome.  Seeing Jerome in Ripper Street has got me hooked on their music again. And from listening to them, I got hit with more inspiration.  The inspiration of inspiration!

I started thinking about how all different kinds of things inspire me, to write, to read, to watch things.  Robson and Jerome inspire me.  Annie Lennox – anything she does is inspiring, and then my shuffle on iTunes took me to Waiting in Vain and the inspiration just seeped into my pores.  Emmyloue Harris’ I Don’t Have to Crawl…Bobby Goldsboro’s ‘Honey’, Julienne Taylor singing ‘I Don’t Want Talk About It’…anything by Runrig…they set the inspirational wheels turning.

Then I move outside of music and I’m submerged in William Blake ‘Auguries of Innocence’ –
“To see a World in a Grain of Sand
And a Heaven in a Wild Flower
Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand
And Eternity in an hour”

And from Blake I’m captured by Dylan Thomas – “Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night’ –

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.”

And by now, I’m swimming in a sea of inspiration, being tugged one way and then the other.  Blake has one arm, Thomas the other, while Annie Lennox grabs onto a foot for purchase.  But do I care?  Not a bit.  I revel in the fight…in each pull, each direction I sway.  When inspiration is hard to find, you grab on to every second you get to spend with it.  I’m holding on tight, so it won’t let go.

Where do you find your inspiration?

Leave a Reply

