Pay It Forward · Review · Writing

Book Review: Drams

Book – Drams
Author – J.M. Morgan
Star rating – ★★★★★

Plot – very intense, psychologically dark
Characters – loved them! Diverse and realistic.
Movie Potential – ★★★★★
Ease of reading – very easy and enjoyable to read
Cover – ✔ (P.S. I am in LOVE with this cover!)
Suitable Title –
Would I read it again – Definitely.

10623088_851416791550260_2187608117167149069_n

** I WAS GIVEN THIS BOOK, BY THE AUTHOR, IN RETURN FOR AN HONEST REVIEW **

I am in LOVE with this cover! I am also a fan of this author, so deciding to read this book was a given the moment I knew it was going into production. Believe me, it didn’t disappoint.

For those of you who wonder why I add in the ‘movie potential’ when reviewing, this book is why. I can see Drams being an American version of Trainspotter, with that same kick-ass, intense feeling. As a book, this story rocks. As a movie? My God, this thing would be freaking awesome! And probably terrifying. Although, I’ll admit, I did my fair share of laughing at the outrageous and awkward situations that arose. It’s definitely an uncomfortable laughter kind of book.

What I absolutely love about this author, is that he writes a book, publishes and then sits back laughing at how you’re totally going to trip out reading the story. I’m positive that’s what he does. Because every book plays with your mind, whether it’s full on or just a little. This one was sprinkled, until I thought I was going crazy with Gilgamesh. And, let’s just take a minute to appreciate the awesomeness that is the name Gilgamesh. I mean, really, it’s the most brilliant name.

Anyway; back to the book. I absolutely loved Gilgamesh and Trap’s relationship. They’re funny, sweet with each other, totally weird and yet totally cool and stupid at the same time. Most importantly, Trap takes care of Gilgamesh, as and when he can, which is the adorable part. Add in the fact that Trap is eighteen and Gilg is almost eighteen, and that just ramps up the cuteness of these two.

The story itself is really intense and dark, but in a lot of ways it’s realistic for kids these days. So scarily good that I couldn’t put it down. I read the whole thing in one sitting, because I needed to know what happened next.

To me, Gilgamesh is a typical, misguided youth, with so much anger inside him that he can’t control it. This is an amazing story about evil, ghosts of the real, metaphysical and mental kind, and the hazards of not dealing with pain and anger in unhealthy ways. I have never and would never play with a Ouija board, but if I’d been tempted to, this book would have completely turned me off the idea.

A very touching, profound and deep, meaningful story told through a regular teenage kid’s day-to-day life over a short period of time. I’m sure this story will touch a lot of people and make them think. We all have demons inside us, but it’s out choice whether to let them take hold or not.

I kind of hate what happened to Trap, but high people, with demons, can’t always tell who loves them or who is looking out for them. The whole book is like a window into the reality of life with drugs, suicide and a lack of guidance.

I could definitely see Zozo coming back up again, in another book. I would read that, no problem. I think it’s a shame that all these characters can’t come back in another book, but I’m sure there are ways to reunite Gilgamesh and Trap, with Zozo’s help. I hope. I think the point of the story is that we, as humans, don’t have the right or the ability to independently and without prejudice, decide who should die. But at the same time, I want to see if Gilg goes after the cop and his mother or not. I know, I’m bad. 🙂

Pink

J.M. Morgan

J.M. Morgan is a trans male who has been living within the LGBTQA community for five years. He wants to make real differences in the world, and writing just so happens to be a passion and a tool he intends to use. Aside from simply writing about these issues, he wants to raise awareness through his actions. One of his long-term goals is to start a Big Brother / Big Sister style program specifically for young transgender individuals.

Leave a Reply

