Poetry · Quotes · Writing

My Brother Torments My Heart – Ancient Egyptian Poetry

** THIS IS A REBLOG OR AN EARLIER POST **

My beloved torments my heart with his voice,

He makes sickness take hold of me;

He is neighbor to my mother’s house.

And I cannot go to him!

Mother is right in charging him thus:

“Give up seeing her!”

It pains my heart to think of him,

I am possessed by love of him.

Truly, he is a foolish one,

But I resemble him;

He knows not my wish to embrace him,

Or he would write to my mother.

Beloved, I am promised to you

By the golden of women!

Come to me that I see your beauty,

Father, mother will rejoice!

My people will hail you all together,

They will hail you, O my beloved!

Second Stanza, from Papyrus Chester Beatty I

One thought on “My Brother Torments My Heart – Ancient Egyptian Poetry

Leave a Reply

