Pay It Forward · Photography

Hollywood Beauties

Edited 22.1.2014 Mlle

Myrna Loy

“[after Peggy tells her parents that they never had any trouble in their relationship]

Milly Stephenson: “We never had any trouble.” How many times have I told you I hated you and believed it in my heart? How many times have you said you were sick and tired of me; that we were all washed up? How many times have we had to fall in love all over again?”

Quote from: The Best Years of Our Lives

~

4751661_f496

Elizabeth Taylor

Cleopatra: How DARE you and the rest of your barbarians set fire to my library? Play conqueror all you want, Mighty Caesar! Rape, murder, pillage thousands, even millions of human beings! But neither you nor any other barbarian has the right to destroy one human thought!”

Quote from: Cleopatra

~

1346617045939538

Lauren Bacall

Vivian: You’ve forgotten one thing – me.

Philip Marlowe: What’s wrong with you?

Vivian: Nothing you can’t fix.

[last lines]”

Quote from: The Big Sleep

~

barbara-1024x816

Barbara Stanwyck

Richard Sturges: Please, Julia. Let’s not bicker, since there’s no love lost between us.

Julia Sturges: That’s the tragic part, Richard. There’s been so much love lost between us.”

Quote from: Titanic

~

ClassicHollywood

Marilyn Monroe

Roslyn: [to Perce] Didn’t anyone ever cry for you before?”

Quote from: The Misfits

~

classic-hollywood-beauties-09162012-07-580x435

Rita Hayworth

Gilda: You do hate me, don’t you, Johnny?

Johnny Farrell: I don’t think you have any idea of how much.

Gilda: Hate is a very exciting emotion. Haven’t you noticed? Very exciting. I hate you too, Johnny. I hate you so much I think I’m going to die from it. Darling…

[they kiss passionately]

Gilda: I think I’m going to die from it.”

Quote from: Gilda

~

classic-hollywood-beauties-09162012-lead01-435x580

Audrey Hepburn

Eliza Doolittle: The difference between a lady and a flower girl is not how she behaves, but how she is treated.”

Quote from: My Fair Lady

~

Ava Gardner

Ava Gardner

‘Swede’ Andersen: Why did you ever go back to him, Kitty?

Kitty Collins: Maybe because I hate him. I’m poison, Swede, to myself and everybody around me! I’d be afraid to go with anyone I love for the harm I do to them! I don’t care harming him!”

Quote from: The Killers

~

Marlene Dietrich

Marlene Dietrich

Sir Wilfrid: Be prepared for hysterics and even a fainting spell. Better have smelling salts handy and a nip of brandy.

Christine Vole: I do not think that will be necessary. I never faint because I am not sure that I will fall gracefully and I never use smelling salts because they puff up the eyes. I am Christine Vole.”

Quote from: Witness for the Prosecution

~

4925608_f260

Jayne Mansfield

Tom Miller: You don’t want a career?

Jerri Jordan: I just want to be a wife. Have kids. But everyone figures me for a sexpot! No one thinks I’m equipped for motherhood!”

Quote from: The Girl Can’t Help It

~

VeronicaLake04

Veronica Lake

Joyce Harwood: Well, don’t you even say ‘Good night’?

Johnny Morrison: It’s good-bye, and it’s tough to say good-bye.

Joyce Harwood: Why is it? You’ve never seen me before tonight.

Johnny Morrison: Every guy’s seen you before somewhere. The trick is to find you.”

Quote from: The Blue Dahlia

~

Gene Tierney Women Management New York Blog

Gene Tierney

Martha: Oh, Henry, I know your every move. I know your outraged indignation. I know the poor weeping little boy. I know the misunderstood, strong, silent man, the wounded lion who’s too proud to explain what happened in the jungle last night.”

Quote from: Heaven Can Wait

~

4925638_f260

Grace Kelly

Mike: She’s a lovely girl.

Tracy: Yes, isn’t she? Ah, but we’re afraid she has a homicidal streak.”

Quote from: High Society

~

Greer Garson

Greer Garson

Elizabeth Bennet: Oh Mr. Darcy, Miss Bingley here is eager for her lesson. I hope you will enjoy it, Miss Bingley, and that you will learn to direct your darts with greater accuracy.”

Quote from: Pride and Prejudice

~

Leave a Reply

