Pay It Forward · Pictures · Review · Writing

Book Review: Kiss of the Spider Woman

This review was originally posted on Goodreads July 16 2011

I didn’t know it at the time I wrote the review, but this would be my first ever literary experience of a gay relationship. It was a big influence in spurring me on to read more of the M/M genre. And now I write it. So, I credit this book with that happy evolution in my writing.

My Rating

★★★★★

Cover

588242

Blurb

Sometimes they talk all night long. In the still darkness of their cell, Molina re-weaves the glittering and fragile stories of the film he loves, and the cynical Valentin listens. Valentin believes in the just cause which makes all suffering bearable; Molina believes in the magic of love which makes all else endurable. Each has always been alone, and always – especially now – in danger of betrayal. But in cell 7 each surrenders to the other something of himself that he has never surrendered before.

Review

I still remember when I first heard about this book. I was in my last year of high school and a friend was reading it as part of an essay for English class. I remember hearing her rave about how great it was and she let me read the back cover while we sat in a free period. She let me borrow it once her essay was done and I enjoyed it so much that I later bought my own copy.

I’ve always remembered this book as being one of the greats. One of my favourites. Not what you would expect, I suppose, from a teenage girl, considering the topics covered in the story. But there is something about this story that speaks to me. It speaks of love, friendship, life and the trials and tribulations of a regular Joe in the real world.

This will always be one of my favourites and I will always continue to read it on a regular basis.

Goodreads

Here you will find buy links, blurb, other reviews and quotes.

Leave a Reply

