Pay It Forward · Pictures · Quotes · Writing

New Release – Blood of Legends

DECO - Cover5

Blood of Legends

~

DECO - Blurb6

The journey continues…
Layna thought leaving after Bailios’ execution would give her some peace and quiet. She was wrong. There is a price on her head, which makes it nearly impossible for her to perform her duties. Assassins are everywhere.
Layna and Kester travel to Edem, a place Layna swore she’d never set foot in again, to retrieve a hidden treasure that will change all of their destinies. Secrets are revealed and Layna worries that the coming war will take everything she holds dear.

~

DECO - Extract

We didn’t have long to wait for the attack. I felt Onyx tense beneath me. His ears flickered left and right. That meant there was more than one attacker. I slid from my horse in preparation. I heard Kester do the same behind me. The horses kept going, leaving us on foot. They wouldn’t go far. With swords in hand, Kester and I stood back to back waiting for what seemed to be four men to attack.

The two in front of me advanced, I stood at the ready. They could come to me. With my sword in my right hand, I slipped my throwing knives into my left. With a flick of a wrist, I sank one into the throat of one of the attackers dropping him on the spot. This gave the other attacker pause. I could hear the clashing of swords behind me. I trusted Kester to keep the others off my back, just like he trusted me to keep these two off his. I could tell by his movements, that this one was a good fighter.

He swung at me, but I blocked it. The force of his hit, vibrated down the sword, into my hand and up my shoulder. He was a strong one and I was tired from the already long journey. He smiled like he knew that I was tired and had felt his hit. I would still be victorious. While he was good, I was better. I wanted to end this quick. I slid another throwing knife into my left hand. I threw it at him while he was blocking that I attacked with my sword. He had anticipated my move and caught my left arm with his sword before I killed him. I winced at the pain. The blood was dripping down my arm.

I turned to see that Kester had dispatched the other two men.

~


DECO - About the Author2

Mariana

If you look in the local coffee shop or bookstore you might just find Mariana Thorn. She can usually be found with headphones in and deep into the worlds she has created. There is this thing about her pens if you touch them you might receive a smack to the hand and the well-known glare of destruction.
As a child all her stories involved horses, horses and more horses. There might have been a slight obsession. Writing became more serious in her early twenties but she never dreamed of publishing until much later. Mariana participates yearly in the international event called NANOWRIMO. She has even been known as a Municipal Liaison for that crazy event. There is nothing like the feeling of encouraging other writers, she would say.
Outside of writing one of her favorite places to sit and read are the sunny beaches of Florida. At home in Washington State her favorite activity is riding horses up on the mountain trails. She has an awesome group of family and friends that keep her in coffee and encouragement. Then there is her best buddy Tony, her little dog. She suspects he will try and take over the world someday.

~

DECO - Contact3

Facebook          Twitter          Website          Goodreads

~

DECO - Where to buy

Amazon UK               Amazon US                  Amazon CA

~

One thought on “New Release – Blood of Legends

Leave a Reply

