Pay It Forward · Pictures · Quotes · Review · Writing

Short Story Reviews #5

All of these titles are 18+ Only!

banner-147496_640

Permanently Legless

Permanently Legless by J.L. Merrow

Blurb: The Taliban may have taken both of Chris’s legs, but he came back from Afghanistan with his sense of humour and his lust for life firmly intact. The one thing that can shake his confidence, however, is meeting Josh, the one-night stand from before his tour of duty he hasn’t been able to forget.

It turns out Josh hasn’t forgotten Chris, either. But with Chris such a changed man, can they still have a future?

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Perfection.

^ This is all that really needs said about this story, but if you want more, read on.

As a user of a wheelchair, I’ve never yet read a story that makes being in a wheelchair seem normal and acceptable, as well as somewhat sexy. This book does all of the above. The way Chris views his disability is refreshingly real and natural. Even the bitterness, the acceptance and the way he views himself as unworthy of attention or love, is spot on.

I loved the characterisation in so few pages and the chemistry that you could feel.

Favourite Quote: This is a toss-up between two quotes:

“I promised him a ride on my wheelchair tonight”

and

“Cheekbones so sharp you could cut yourself and pouty red lips that looked like they’d already gone ten rounds with some lucky bastard’s cock before he even got here. Soft brown hair and eyes to match. I could feel my jeans getting tighter just watching him wiggle those cute little hips to the Scissor Sisters.”

banner-147496_640

Jack

Jack, Me, and My Irish Mystery by G. Hardmen

Blurb: “Jack, Me, and My Irish Mystery” is a short novel with elements of adventure, mystery, and romance. University Professor Kyle Gentry is mailed a package from his Irish grandmother. Due to her declining health and age, she asks that he take over the responsibility of protecting a treasure in Ireland which is hidden on the family’s estate.

Kyle travels to Ireland immediately when his grandmother is hospitalized. He has an unfriendly welcome to the Emerald Isle, but finally arrives at the Castle Inn. There Kyle meets Inn Keeper Angus who is the first to befriend him, and points Kyle in the right direction to begin his investigation. Later after speaking with the town’s mayor, Kyle eventually meets Jack, the local historian, to help him with his quest.

Kyle and Jack agree to explore the historic family estate, and that’s where the adventure, mystery, and romance really begins…

Rating: ★★★★☆

Review: I really enjoyed this one. This is my second book by this author and I’m feeling much more comfortable with his writing style now, than I did with the first one. It’s different to a lot of other authors, but it works.

The mystery was intriguing, the romance was a little quick, but it worked for the characters and the hotness was HAWT! I’ll definitely be on the look out for the next book in their adventures.

banner-147496_640

Declan

My Man Declan by Amber Kell

Blurb: Phoenix Moorhaven liked things just so. He likes his house running in perfect order, his coffee with a bit of blood and his manservant untouched by anyone—ever. When Declan decides to start dating Moor scrambles to intercede. After all messing with Declan could upset the pristine organization of his household.

Declan has pined for Moor long enough. Determined to have a life of his own Declan accepts a meeting with a blind date. However vampire masters and dating don’t mix and at the end of the night he’ll see a side of Moorhaven he never expected.

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: This was so yummy that once I started, I just ate it up.

First off, I could feel the electricity between Declan and Phoenix right from the start. There’s such a sizzle between them. It’s also the first book I’ve ever read, outside of Harry Potter, that’s taken on the house-elf angle and it worked brilliantly.

Such an engaging, dynamic book with an original plot and some real laugh out loud, cringe worthy, cutesy moments. I couldn’t have asked for more. I read it in one sitting, which might have been a mistakes, because now it’s over far too soon. I could happily read more of these characters, over and over again.

Worth every penny!

banner-147496_640

Prince Among Princes

A Prince Among Princes by G.R. Richards

Blurb: The Association of Gay Princes’ annual conference is always dull as dry toast, apart from the opportunity to bed handsome waiters.

Prince Julian has decided to forgo the serving staff this year. The hunt is beginning to seem rather silly to him now. He’s ready for a real partnership with a like-minded royal… and if that royal happens to be as gorgeous as honey-haired Prince Chase of the Coast, so much the better!

But who is this handsome Prince Chase, and why has Julian never seen him before?

A gay romantic comedy short.

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I really enjoyed this one. Once again G.R. has kept true to the time of the story, used the right words and atmosphere to build a believeable fairytale-esque story. Loved the characters and would like to read more of them.

It made me smile. It’s the kind of cheesy Rom/Com that I love.

banner-147496_640

 Tom and Alan

The Tom and Alan Trilogy by Luke Lawson

Blurb: Featuring THE SLEEPOVER INCIDENT, THE MIDNIGHT INCIDENT, and THE ROOMMATE INCIDENT, this TRILOGY BUNDLE is the best way to consume the story of Tom & Alan’s first gay experience together.

When Alan’s college Roommate, Tom, comes home for Thanksgiving break; they get to fully explore the secret, gay feelings they have for each other.

A hot, steamy gay story about two straight roommates exploring each others bodies for the first time.

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: *From the Sleepover Incident*
I really enjoyed this story. There are some minor issues with grammar and little odd gaps and one sentence that feels like it’s missing a word, but they’re really easily overlooked, when you view the story as a whole.

Tom and Alan are just adorable, though I’m not sure that I like that they can only move things along once they’re drunk. I’m certain there will be repercussions for that in the next book. That being said, they are college guys and this is all new to them, so I do get that they need courage to make a move.

I loved the writing and will definitely read more of this author. I also loved the character building – with very few words, the author made me root for Alan to get what he wanted and I love that. I’m all about the characters.

The next two books…
As promised, I read the end of the series and I’m so glad I did. There was fear, excitement, giddy moments and lots of hotness. Both of the following two short stories really brought the trilogy to a nice end. All my questions were answered, I felt comfortable leaving them to live their lives and not at all worried about their future. Tom and Alan are the quintessential adorable couple, who fight past some obstacles to be together. Although this is new, they trust it and that makes me trust that they know what they’re doing.

I’m very happy with the ending – The End (for now) – and really hope there is more to come.

banner-147496_640

Long Weekend

The Long Weekend by George Parks

Blurb: The long weekend is a gay, erotic romance/fantasy between James and David when James advertises a bicycle for sale and David calls to buy it. Very quickly a very erotic and sexual relationship begins but hits snags when James’ ex partner arrives on the scene.

Rating: ★★★★☆

Review: I spent a long time thinking about how to rate this book. On one hand, I would normally give it a 3, because of the (quite a lot) grammar/spelling issues. On the other, the story bumped this up to a 4, because I could see the potential and the meaning of the work.

There are moments of absolute genius in this book – parts that are so well written, so well planned and plotted, with great characterisation, that it’s hard to tear yourself away. The first few pages were like that for me. There are also some pages that feel unnecessary – like his day-to-day routine, and that I skimmed through. That’s nothing against the author, I just want the romance. Funnily enough, these excess areas are where the author’s writing falls the hardest. I can see that they were probably just filler for a word count or something, while the real story got all the good writing and effort. Which is totally fine with me.

I won’t go much into plot, because this one is full of surprises. There was a lot I didn’t see coming. Generally it’s a really cutesy, cheesy romance, with some hard hitting moments. It’s a true romance, in the classic sense and that really came across for me. The parts with Michael were difficult to read and that means the author did a great job of portraying those emotions.

banner-147496_640

Sold

Sold Into Service (Boys With Painted Lips #1) by Charlotte Mistry

Blurb: Leah knew he’d be put to work to pay for his crimes. He just didn’t know it would be in the Silk Road brothel, famed for its debauchery. Now he has to learn fast, or else. Fortunately he has a capable teacher: long-legged, gorgeous Gaius, a veteran of the brothel who knows exactly the right way to whip Leah into shape. If he can keep up, he might just make something of himself, and get a peek under Gaius’ icy exterior. If he can’t, there are worse uses he could be put to… And failure is not an option.

Rating: ★★★★☆

Review: This short story has everything I’ve been missing in M/M shorts lately. It’s got great character and plot development, realistic character with realistic reactions to situations, but it’s also got a little mystery, sex, heat and chemistry!

Chemistry between characters is something I’ve been missing in my short stories and this one has it in nice, teasing doses. I love Gaius and Leah and can’t wait to continue their story.

banner-147496_640

Day Release

Day Release by Author

Blurb: Although he has never been with a man, 18-year-old Jamie is definitely gay. He’s also definitely in the closet! It’s the 1980s, when being gay wasn’t so easy for a young guy and Jamie is just too scared to take chances.

Living with his working-class family and working in the offices of a factory, Jamie doesn’t think he’d be accepted if he came out as gay. His whole world is a lie and he’s never able to be himself – except on Thursdays when he’s at college on ‘Day Release’.

It’s on one of these Thursdays, while in town during his lunch break, that he finds himself caught short and has to pay a visit to a public toilet. Young and innocent, Jamie unknowingly enters a secret world of casual encounters where he meets a hot older guy.

Will Jamie find the courage to make his fantasies come true?

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I loved this book. This has to be one of the best written, most real short stories there are out there, right now.

Jamie is relateable, real and very much loveable. His feelings are realistic, his reactions are brave but real and sometimes cute and funny. I giggled quite a lot through this one, cringed a few times, worried and rejoiced for Jamie and his brave decisions. When he meets Brian ‘the stud’, you can actually feel chemistry between them, even before the official face-to-face meeting.

The ending had me shocked and surprised. I saw things going slightly differently, so having a surprise twist was great. I didn’t see it coming. I would love to read more about Jamie and Brian.

Excellently written and plotted. One of my new favourites.

banner-147496_640

Leave a Reply

