Music · Pay It Forward · Tips · Writing

The Nation’s Favourite 80s Number Ones

Now, as you’ll all remember, I’ve often had issue with TV stations or music channels doing countdowns of ‘The Best’ of anything. I’m a big music lover and we recently caught the end of ‘The Nation’s Favourite 80s Number Ones’ and for once, I LOVED it!

It was almost spot on. Almost, because I don’t agree that ‘Every Breath You Take’ by The Police, should be #1, but as for everything else, I’m in total agreement with the song/band/placement.

So, here’s the list of songs (not in order), so you can see whether you agree or disagree:

Every Breath You Take – The Police

Billie Jean – Michael Jackson

I Wanna Dance With Somebody – Whitney Houston

There Must Be An Angel (Playing With My Heart) – Eurythmics

Don’t You Want Me – The Human League

Wake Me Up Before You Go Go – Wham!

Come On Eileen – Dexys Midnight Runners

Karma Chameleon – Culture Club

Tainted Love – Soft Cell

You Spin Me Round (Like A Record) – Dead or Alive

House of Fun – Madness

Two Tribes – Frankie Goes to Hollywood

West End Girls – Pet Shop Boys

The Reflex – Duran Duran

True – Spandau Ballet

Don’t Leave Me This Way – Communards

Back to Life – Soul II Soul Feat. Carol Wheeler

Theme from S Express – S’Express

Too Shy – Kajagoogoo

19 – Paul Hardcastle

Especially For You – Kylie Minogue & Jason Donovan

China in Your Hand – T’Pau

The Sun Always Shines on T.V. – A Ha

Never Gonna Give You Up – Rick Astley

I Owe You Nothing – Bros

You Got It (The Right Stuff) – New Kids on the Block

Heaven Is A Place on Earth – Belinda Carlisle

Don’t Turn Around – Aswad

Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now – Starship

Eternal Flame – The Bangles

All Around the World – Lisa Stansfield

You’ll Never Stop Me Loving You – Sonia

Respectable – Mel & Kim

Rock Me Amadeus – Falco

When the Going Get Tough, the Tough Get Going – Billy Ocean

Making Your Mind Up – Bucks Fizz

If I Was – Midge Ure

Wherever I Lay My Hat (That’s My Home) – Paul Young

Uptown Girl – Billy Joel

Total Eclipse of the Heart – Bonnie Tyler

I Want to Know What Love Is – Foreigner

Eye of the Tiger – Survivor

The Final Countdown – Europe

Stand and Deliver – Adam & The Ants

This Ole House – Shakin’ Stevens

The Power of Love – Jennifer Rush

Perfect – Fairground Attraction

Frankie – Sister Sledge

I Feel For You – Chaka Khan

Fame – Irene Cara

Give It Up – KC & The Sunshine Band

99 Red Balloons – Nena

La Bamba – Los Lobos

Down Under – Men at Work

Working My Way Back to You – Spinners

Begin the Beguine (Volver A Empezar) – Julio Inglesias

Take My Breath Away – Berlin

Hello – Lionel Richie

Careless Whisper – George Michael

One thought on “The Nation’s Favourite 80s Number Ones

Leave a Reply

