interview · Pay It Forward · Writing

What to Expect in 2016

2016 is going to be a big year, for me. Not necessarily because I’ll be publishing non stop, but because I won’t be. You might ask why not. Well, simply because I did that in 2015 and it didn’t work out. I spent so long preparing books for publishing – editing 20 times, then sending to the editor and going through that 2-3 times – and then actually promoting the works that were already released, that I barely had time for anything else.

I have more than 30 planned stories that I’d hoped to at least start writing in 2015 and it never happened. I had 10 more that were completed, but needed quite a bit of editing to clean them up enough for publication, or even just submitting them to my publishers. That didn’t happen either.

It turns out that I recently discovered why.

I’m working (AKA writing/editing) 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Sometimes not literally, as most of the work was thinking about writing, but I still burned myself out.

This year, I plan to be more careful. I’ve found that taking a whole week or fortnight (2 weeks) off from writing and editing, I felt better. I slept better and my mood improved. I also wasn’t so tired. I managed to get a lot of reading done, which is always a good thing. So that’s my plan for 2016: 1 week off every month, to read and catch up on my TBR list and give me a break from non-stop working.

I will be releasing new books, though. At the moment, I have 2 MM novels planned (both solos novels) and a related anthology that I’d like to get out around Christmas or so, but I need to clean that up one more time before submitting it. I also have plans to release at least three YA novels: 2 from the Secrets of Avelina Chronicles and at least one from the remaining 2 Belesone Pack books. That may change, depending on how long or how quickly we get through the edits.

Either way, I have a solid editing list – books that I need to get edited for publication – consisting of 7 books: that last 3 of the Avelina Chronicles, two MM novels, one YA crime story and one YA contemporary romance. Those are the immediate needs for editing.

As for writing, I have a long, long list of books that I’d like to get written, but – again – I’m not going to push it. I’d like to get 3 definitely completed (a follow-up trilogy to The Belesone Pack Trilogy) and my first young adult MM novel.

Other than these plans, I’m kicking back and enjoying some awesome books.

2 thoughts on “What to Expect in 2016

Leave a Reply

