Pay It Forward · Pictures · Quotes · Review · Writing

The Genius of Harry Potter

You’ll know, if you’re a regular visitor to the blog, that I’m a big fan of Harry Potter. I’m a total Potterhead – with the books, collector’s items etc and the love of all stories, including fanfictions.

I’m also a big shipper of Ronmione (Ron + Hermione) and Drarry (Draco + Harry). They might not be popular pairings, despite the events of the book and many fan fictions (some people prefer Draco + Hermione and you’d be amazed at all the different couplings that Harry has) but these pairings tug at my heart in a unique way. You can check out my Goodreads Challenge from 2015, to see my reviews and get links to all the HP books I’ve read so far, including links to some fan fictions. I’m such a fan that I even printed out my fave fan-fics (so that I can keep and re-read them).

But the best thing is that every time I read J.K.’s series, I always see something new. Something important, that I never noticed before. Or something that I did notice before, but which only now rings out as exceptionally important. There are a few things that really tug at your heart, as you’re reading, once you already know the story and know what’s going to happen in the future.

~

b0330d43536ec6de38548f506aabd40d

“When I get married,’ said Fred, tugging at the collar of his own robes. ‘I won’t be bothering with any of this nonsense. You can all wear what you like and I’ll put a full body-bind curse on mum until it’s over.”

~

These things are the reason that I can watch the movies a hundred times, only crying when someone dies, but when I read the novels, I tend to cry about 3-4 times during every book. I read the series again in 2015, for probably the fourth or fifth time, and I still cried 6 times during Book 7 and at least twice during every other novel.

The way that J.K. writes is so emotive, without using big fancy words or paragraphs. The genius of Harry Potter is the way that J.K. can have you crying or feeling connected to a character in just a few words.

These are my favourite examples:

fa1a1957611c185be3600623f3b20079

Not my daughter, you bitch!
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
– Quote by Molly Weasley

8f18154c92c06a0cbce20de3eda20ebd

We must try not to sink beneath our anguish, Harry, but battle on.
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
– Quote by Albus Dumbledore

i5oop5v4d6wem09d_v7_

People find it far easier to forgive others for being wrong than being right.
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
– Quote by Albus Dumbledore

Quotefancy-5894-3840x2160

It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
– Quote by Albus Dumbledore

4b3f683cbf5fd0f26ecfbc6f4d83085a

Numbing the pain for a while will make it worse when you finally feel it.
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
– Quote by Albus Dumbledore

~

There is no other author who can reduce me to tears the way J.K. can and no other author who drags me into the world of the book so completely, without jarring me back out with editing errors, weak characterisation or events that make me cringe or make me uncomfortable. Even when my favourite characters die, as they nearly all do in this series, it’s for a reason. No death is ever heartless, ever passed without mourning or done for pure dramatic effect. The way that Harry travels through his years at Hogwarts, constantly battling evil, finding himself and discovering who his true friends are, is a journey that – so like Hermione – grabs your hand, turns your world around and Apparates you into a brand new world that you never want to leave.

From that first moment when Harry finds out he’s a wizard, to learning the secrets of Hogwarts school, to making new friends and enemies, and discovering just why Harry has to return to his horrible family ever year, there is never a moment when I don’t feel the books completely blast the movies out of the water.

There is no comparison, for me, between the two. Though I love both the movies and the books, I love the detail and the secrets that are kept within the book’s pages. From Kreacher’s broader story – the secrets of the Half-Blood Prince and the real frustration I feel with Hermione, during the last few books, when she constantly tells Harry he’s wrong, when we readers know he’s right – to the real circumstances of the Great Battle of Hogwarts, there are so many aspects of the novels that really bring the world to life.

566ce5213c6f0354c5c8f5f296d898a9

With very little detail – you never get sidetracked by unnecessary room descriptions or people’s physical appearances – you can still get a crystal clear view of the world, the characters and the story that J.K. writes, without ever losing a sense of inclusion. The little details that are shared with us, no matter when or in what way, are always important. When Harry sees a glimpse of white hair in a crowd, you just know that he’s keeping an eye on Draco. When we’re told about Luna’s radish earrings, it’s to broadcast how strange and unusual she is. When you find out that Xenophilius Lovegood wears a strange eye-like symbol on his necklace to Bill’s wedding, it’s for a reason. Not just so that Harry can sit and talk with Krum, which is an important (and hilarious, because of Ron) event in itself, but it’s also a lead up to what happens in the rest of the story.

From our first introduction to the Room of Requirement, with hurries uses for hiding books, for hiding places and for secret meetings, to the very last mention of it as a place Voldemort thought only he knew about, the room holds the most importance of any building or room in existence, within the entire Harry Potter universe. Some of the most important parts of the story happen in or around this room and it’s no wonder why – the Room of Requirement is the hiding place for all of Hogwarts secrets, even those it doesn’t know it’s hiding.

It’s little wonder, therefore, that the world of Harry Potter has captured the imaginations of the world. It is, perhaps, one of the most important series of novels that I have ever read. It will be the first book I gift any child in my family, the first imaginary world that I would recommend sharing with others, over any other. No matter my age and no matter what other books will be releases in the future, Harry Potter will continue to be the most important, most beautiful, heart wrenching and magical series of my life.

2ff7ed29efbbdba3fcc3969a90246ed8

Leave a Reply

