Pay It Forward · Pictures · Quotes · Review · Writing

Book Review: When Was the Last Time, by Kelly Jensen

11140056_10205688966691569_5015814683994473128_n

~

When Was the Last Time - Kelly Jensen

~

Paul Summerfield is stunned by the gentle reminder it has been over a year since he and his partner, Evan Akkerman, have made love. He vows to take Evan out for Valentine’s Day. Dinner and sex. Lots of sex. There’s only one catch—he’s supposed to be in San Francisco that week cataloging the art collection of an important new client. No problem, he’ll just change his schedule and cut his trip short by a day.

In San Francisco, Paul struggles with regrets and the fear his love is slipping away from him. Every call to Evan seems only to prove the distance between them is increasing. All this, and a key piece of his client’s catalog is caught up in customs. To keep their Valentine’s date, Paul will have to choose between the career he’s built over fifteen years and the man he’s loved for just as long.

~

Book – When Was The Last Time

Author – Kelly Jensen

Star rating – ★★★★★

No. of Pages – 42

Movie Potential – ★★★★★

Ease of reading – very easy to read

Would I read it again – Definitely

** I WAS GIVEN THIS BOOK, BY THE AUTHOR, IN RETURN FOR AN HONEST REVIEW **

Reviewed for Divine Magazine

This is my first story by this author and it wasn’t a disappointment.

From the minute I read the blurb, I’ll admit that I had an expectation in mind, of how the story might progress or what emotions I might feel. I was right, but there was also so much more to it than that.

For a short story, it packed a punch. It had everything I wanted, after reading the blurb: angst, confusion, doubt, jealousy, uncertainty and more. From the first page, when Evan brought up the subject of their ‘last time’, I could feel the tension between them and the comfortable expectation that everything was pretty much normal and as it had been for a while.

As the story progressed and Paul went on this journey of self-discovery, realising things about their relationship that had passed him by, I developed an intense connection to both characters. I felt sad, when Paul felt sad, nervous and scared about what he’d discover, when he felt the same. I was completely in tune with Paul’s emotions the entire way through the story; I felt his confusion and his need to understand, the worry that things might never be the same again. I could also see the distance between him and Evan, growing before his eyes, the way Paul saw it.

~

This story was a real gem. I’ll admit – I was hesitant about agreeing to review this, because I had no prior experience of the author. While I love finding new authors, my reviewing list was already long. But, I can’t resist myself. The cover kept drawing my attention and I couldn’t ignore that. It’s a beautiful piece of art and craftsmanship, just like the story.

I love the style, the characters, the story and how it was executed. It’s such a sweet, cute story about how it’s never too late to change, to adapt, to open your eyes and see the truth. That love can grow stale and comfortable, without meaning the end of a relationship or that there was no love any more.

I’m not going to go into detail about the plot or the characters or the author’s writing. I don’t have to. Pick this up, spare an hour of your day to sit down and read it uninterrupted and you’ll see why. The story speaks for itself.

~

Leave a Reply

