Pay It Forward · Pictures · Quotes · Review · Writing

Book Review: Naughty Cupid, by Deanna Wadsworth

 

~

A Cupid’s Wager

The name’s Lio, and I’m a cupid working for the Gay Division of the Inter-Dimensional Association of Cupids. An Aztec god, whose modern name, Ethan, doesn’t make him any less scary, just busted me shooting a closeted human with a gay lust arrow. I might find him sexy with all those tattoos and piercings, if I didn’t have a rule against getting it on with other supernaturals—especially ones working for the Straight Division. Now, to save my butt I’ll have to strike a bargain with this tough god. But what I didn’t see coming was my little wager not only risks my career, but places my broken heart completely in Ethan’s hands.

Naughty Cupid

The name’s Lio, and you may have read the beginning of my story in A Cupid’s Wager. Well, hold on to your hats, because there’s more to tell about your favorite cupid working in the Gay Division of the Inter-Dimensional Association of Cupids.

Remember Ethan? That Aztec god of the winds who busted me shooting a closeted human with a gay lust arrow? Yeah, I haven’t been able to forget him either. Even though I have a rule against getting it on with other supernaturals—especially ones working for the Straight Division—my magic is drawn to Ethan and all his tattoos and piercings in a way I cannot control.

But after that night of mind-numbing sex, now I gotta face my evil ex-boyfriend and a suspension by the IDAC for “misplacing” arrows. They took my quiver, and I have to figure out how to get my arrow privileges back before they’re taken forever.

Ethan seems to think he can help me, but I don’t know how anybody can make this cupid believe in love again.

First Edition published as A Cupid’s Wager by Dreamspinner Press, 2014.

~

Book – A Cupid’s Wager (A Valentine Rainbow) (Prequel to “Naughty Cupid”)

Author – Deanna Wadsworth

Star rating – ★★★★★

No. of Pages – 70

Cover – Gorgeous. Very arts and evocative

POV – 1st person, single character POV

Would I read it again – Yes!

Genre – LGBT, Supernatural, Cupid, Humour

** I WAS GIVEN THIS BOOK, BY THE AUTHOR, IN RETURN FOR AN HONEST REVIEW **

Reviewed for Divine Magazine

Wow! What can I say about this steamy little number? For 70 pages, this story packs a punch.

Funny, sweet in the right places, while harbouring a darker secret, I can’t wait to read more about Lio and Ethan. The story is a total riot, with tongue-in-cheek humour and a brilliant, feisty lead character.

I loved the warning, before we began:

“I have seriously bastardized both Roman and Mesoamerican mythology to suit the purposes of this story and did so with total impudence. If you are a stickler for rules and obsessed with predictable and dull dull accuracies, proceed with caution.”

Well, I’m fine with that and it’s a good job, because this is one story you don’t want to miss. Pick it up, sit yourself down for an hour or two and have a good giggle, while enjoying some awesomely hot man-on-man action.

The added bonus is that this story broke my book funk and brightened up a horrible day.

~

Book – Naughty Cupid (Includes the short A Cupid’s Wager)

Author – Deanna Wadsworth

Star rating – ★★★★★

No. of Pages – 240

Cover – Gorgeous!

POV – 1st person, one character POV, with a Prologue of 3rd person

Would I read it again – Heck yeah!

Genre – LGBT, Supernatural, Cupid, Romance

** I WAS GIVEN THIS BOOK, BY THE AUTHOR, IN RETURN FOR AN HONEST REVIEW **

Reviewed for Divine Magazine

*TRIGGER WARNINGS: nothing on page, but a lot of talk about domestic violence (both emotional and physical), homophobia and emotional/physical betrayal*

*sigh*

*swoon*

Wow!

I’m not even sure how to write this review, because all I can think after finishing it is just how friggin’ satisfying it is. I mean, you have Aztec Gods, Naughty Cupids, love and lust arrows, broken hearts, time travel and…gosh! So much to contend with, but it all fits perfectly.

First off, I came straight into reading this, assuming I had to read A Cupid’s Wager first. That’s not true, because that’s just a naughty little prequel to this story and is, in fact, included as the first 7 chapters of this novel. However, it didn’t hamper my reading at all, to have read it first. It just meant I got to sneak ahead to Chapter 8 and get my groove on from there.

So, my run down of the first seven chapters is this (partly stolen from my review of A Cupid’s Wager). The story starts off funny, sweet in the right places, while harbouring a darker secret. A total riot, with tongue-in-cheek humour and a brilliant, feisty lead character.

I loved the warning, before we began:

I have seriously bastardized both Roman and Mesoamerican mythology to suit the purposes of this story and did so with total impudence. If you are a stickler for rules and obsessed with predictable and dull dull accuracies, proceed with caution.”

Well, I’m fine with that and it’s a good job, because this is one story you don’t want to miss. Pick it up, sit yourself down for an hour or two and have a good giggle, while enjoying some awesomely hot man-on-man action.

What came after those chapters was a total mind-fuck. There’s no other way to put it. I fell in love with Lio, Ethan and Walter so many times, falling harder and harder each time, until it was just ridiculous. The humour, the love, the squidgy romancey fluttering hearts had my emotions in a tailspin, along with the heartbreak, the pain and the tears (and there were a lot of them!). It felt like my stomach was on a rollercoaster, flip-flopping with each emotion until I ended up drained and desperately needing a boost.

Constantine! *spit* Ugh! What a horrible, dickwad of a bad guy. I mean, seriously…this guy was all kinds of messed up and when I finally knew what Lio had really been through, I was surprised he was still standing, never mind able to function like a proper little Cupid.

The delicate, serious issues that this book deals with are handled with care, sensitivity and a healthy respect for victims and their mindset, so much so that it brought me to tears. While dealing with the issues of one Cupid, they actually explored a much more widespread, more meaningful issues and did so with grace.

To not ruin the story, I will limit myself to say that I’ve never read a better story about Cupids or the Aztecs than this one. Lightheartered where it needs to be, emotionally heavy throughout and about much bigger issues that the blurb or title will ever suggest, this is a MUST READ for anyone and everyone who has ever believed in love or been given cause to doubt it.

Love this book the way it will love you…giving everything it has to offer in return for your undivided attention. You won’t be sorry.

The only negative? Um…some very minor spelling/grammar issues in an UNEDITED arc, which I can totally dismiss. What else? Only that it ended. That is the only bad thing about it.

~

Favourite Quotes

(because I had far too many to just pick one)

““Well, hell-O, Tall Dark and Scary,” Walter crooned, nudging me in the side. “Come on, Lio. Aren’t you going to introduce me to your friend?”

Um…er?”

I am Éhecatl,” Ethan said with a nod. “You may call me Ethan.”

And you can call me your next big mistake,” my friend crooned, giving him a lecherous once-over.”

““You can’t protect me,” I told him, knowing it was true. Once again I’d ruined my own life, and there wasn’t anything anyone could do to help me. My shoulders dropped and with that, any imaginary hope I’d felt in Ethan’s arms was dashed.”

Blinking fast, I did my best to sound casual – and failed miserably. “Because a sore ass hurts a helluva lot less than a broken heart.””

~

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Naughty Cupid, by Deanna Wadsworth

Leave a Reply

