Pay It Forward · Writing

Origin Story: Cacodemon

This is a new feature, where I tell you the story of where my novels originally came from. From the first germ of an idea, to the first “written” inception and how it became what it is today, in it’s print form.

~

Cacodemon, the series, began as a submission to an anthology. The theme was still being decided, but the first idea was for it to be about rock stars. So I looked at my two existing rock star short stories, that were already complete and close to word count (15K) – Go Hard or Go Home (free to read on Wattpad) and Blink. I even looked at my MF story (which I’ve never really been happy with) Number 1 (With A Bullet) (also free on Wattpad). None of them seemed to fit. No. 1 was too long and Go Hard or Go Home didn’t really work as a short story, once I’d read it back. I feel it needs more work before it or Blink can go into print. Maybe even extended into novels.

So I began to write a new story, starting off with a guy on stage. Somehow, through the beginning of seeing a guy in the crowd, it became a paranormal, demon-infested romance story. And it grew and grew and grew. It was only meant to be 15K at the most, but the more I wrote, the more I realised that wasn’t going to be enough. 15K would only take us to the point where Perry, the rock star, first falls asleep after he and the demon have sex. That wasn’t nearly enough for a real story, but it was the beginning of something much bigger.

Well, much bigger turned out to be a whole lot bigger than I planned.

Once I began posting the story on Wattpad, I got requests for Darrick, a side character introduced in the middle of the story, to get his own HEA. Well, I could do that, but I really wasn’t sure how.

Then I remembered this really ugly, horrible MF story I wrote ages ago. It was incomplete, with only about 5 chapters written, because I hated it. It was a similar storyline – accidental meeting between human and demon (at the time it was an Angel who was sort of vampirish) only for them to stay together. However, it was really ridiculous and I had no idea how to fix it. Then I thought – hang on, if I chop it up, I can take the decent parts for Darrick’s story and change the scenery from book 1, for book 2 to start somewhere new, with a brand new challenge.

So that’s what I did. I stole parts of that horrible story, called Endless Hunger, and what did I end up using? From all the 5 chapters that I’d written for it, I probably ended up using about 2 pages worth, in the end. Just like book 1, book 2 began to take on a life of it’s own. It became stronger, more disciplined than what I’d planned to write and much more complex.

Darrick didn’t get his HEA in book 2, because that wasn’t how the story worked. He might not even get it in book 3, which I’m currently writing, because I’m only halfway through and there’s no sign of him settling down. But, I’m okay with that because a whole lot more is going on than a simple romance.

That’s the one thing that I really love about the Cacodemon series. It began as a sexy short, morphed into a super hot novel, with a lot of sex, but the more books that go on, the less sex and romance there is, the more complex plot making begins to happen, until the story is a tangled weave of incidents surrounding Perry, as he tried to find his way through this new life that’s been thrust upon him.

~

Overall, I hope that what started out as a really ugly MF novel about an Angel who fed on blood will be enjoyable. It’s undergone substantial re-writes, multiple edits, re-edits and a lot of soul searching to get it where it is, but I hope it’s a better story for it.

~

Leave a Reply

