Pay It Forward · Pictures · Quotes · Review · Writing

Book Review: I Experimented Once in College, by Aishlar Snow

I Experimented Once in College

I Experimented Once in College 2

~

PhD candidate William Yderis comes to Efeldon University to teach and finish his degree in charmcrafting. For methodical, sedate, and scholarly William, the school defies his expectations—and not in a good way. The biggest surprise comes when William meets his boss, absent-minded Archmage Taliesin Karsus, a man as infuriating as he is sexy.

As William struggles to carve out his place at the university, he is drawn in to Tal’s chaotic experiments… and drawn to Tal despite his logical mind’s protests. And if Tal’s wavering affection isn’t enough to complicate William’s studies, he uncovers a plot involving an ambitious staff member, brainwashed students, sexual assault, and a threat to the lives of everyone on campus. When it comes time to face the danger, William is on his own. For the first time in his life, he’ll have trust in his heart instead of his head.

~

Book – I Experimented Once in College

Author – Aishlar Snow

Star rating – ★★★★

No. of Pages – 103

Cover – Gorgeous, but misleading.

POV – 3rd person, past tense, 1 character POV

Would I read it again – Yes.

Genre – LGBT, Fantasy, Magical, 18+

.

** I WAS GIVEN THIS BOOK, BY THE AUTHOR, IN RETURN FOR AN HONEST REVIEW **

Reviewed for Divine Magazine

.

To start with, I have to admit that I feel misled by the cover. It portrayed a 18-25 year old person and, along with the description of a college student, that’s what I expected. However, our main character William reads more like a 30 year old, prim and proper professor, rather than a student.

I also want to take umbridge at the suggestion that William went through all this alone, stated in the blurb – “When it comes time to face the danger, William is on his own. He’s not alone. In fact, on Guy’s behalf, I’d like to say that he’d be mindlessly warped and clueless without him.

~

Despite that, I loved this story. Actually, it’s probably because of those things that I love it. William wasn’t a moon-eyed college kid, setting his sights on an older professor. He was a smart, sophisticated, slightly weird guy, who wasn’t really all that likeable in the beginning. And the man he falls for is not his professor, but a powerful authority figure, and he is definitely as sexy as the blurb claims.

I really loved Guy, too. From the start, he was this lovely, slightly naïve and innocent boy, who was nothing more than a poor farm boy elevated to a position that he didn’t feel comfortable in. Then he became William’s friend and I only grew to love him more.

There was something slightly odd about the sentence structure, at times, that confused me. I couldn’t decide if it was a matter of spelling/grammar mistakes, missing words or just the author’s style of writing. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t what I’m used to. It didn’t interfere with the story, however, so that’s a plus.

There was a lot of description at the start, about the surroundings and William’s complaints about the decor and expensive furnishings. He was a bit of a complainer at the start of the story and it wasn’t until he met and became familiar with Archmage Karsus that his disposition improved.

~

Overall, I had to remove 1 star for the fact that I spent half the book disliking William and the other totally rooting for him. It was confusing and disconcerting. The other reason I removed this 1 star was for the Epilogue. In no way did it tell me everything I wanted to know. In fact, it made me panic about Guy, who was mentioned only briefly as being once again chased off for his gift.

Unless there’s a second book (hopefully covering Guy’s story) then I’ll be sorely disappointed. The end just didn’t do the story justice at all. There was so much more that I wanted and needed to know, before the story could be considered finished.

Regardless, I loved everything else about it. From William’s instincts, Tal and Guy, to the exploration of a magical world that pretty much worked like any other college or university.

~

Leave a Reply

