Pay It Forward · Review · Writing

TOP 25: Best Books of the Year, So Far

Reviewing for Divine Magazine has been amazing. I started it, this year, because I’ve always found myself saying “I have all these great books, but I never get time to read them”. And, truthfully, I’m probably about 5 years behind on latest releases and popular authors. I read what I come across, but always end up missing out on the really popular stuff that everyone is raving about, because, by the time I get round to it, I’ve forgotten why I wanted to read it.
 
I’ve had some fantastic reads, since Divine took me on, so I thought I’d share some of my favourites so far with you all (these were all 5 star reads). If you click on the book titles, you’ll be taken to my review of that book (so if there’s no link, it’s because the review isn’t live yet. I’ll update soon):
 
1 – Some Assembly Required – Lex Chase & Bru Baker – supernatural, with ghost elements
2 – His Master’s Summons (Azgarth’s Chosen #1) – Cassie Sweet – paranormal/steampunk
3 – The Winter Prince – R. Cooper – fantasy, about a frozen prince
4 – Vinyl Tiger – Dave Di Vito – biographical style fiction about a singer, exploring decades of his life
5 – Mending the Rift – Chris T. Kat – MPREG romance, with space/fantasy elements
6 – Cozzi Cove 1-2 – Joe Cosentino – contemporary romance novels
7 – For Never and Always – Ana J. Phoenix – contemporary, supernatural, involving ghosts
8 – The Kitchen Boy – Augusta Li – fantasy/adventure
9 – Spell Slave 1-2 – Evelyn Elliott – fantasy/adventure
10 – Caravaggio’s Angel – Chris Quinton – contemporary, paranormal
11 – Ocean of Secrets – Jerry Sacher – historical, romance
12 – Druids Lodge – Kelly Clemmons – paranormal, shifter
13 – A Good Enough Reason – C.M. Lievens – contemporary, young adult, bullying
14 – Strong Medicine – J.K. Hogan – contemporary, mental health
15 – The Chronicles of Tournai 1-3 – Antonia Aquilante – fantasy, adventure, paranormal (book 2 was a wobble for me, at 3 stars)
17 – The Town of Superstition 1-2 – R.G. Thomas – paranormal, adventure, young adult
18 – The Leader Murders 1-3 – Liv Olteano – paranormal, shifter, crime, romance (book 3 was a wobble at just 3.5 stars)
19 – Forbes Mates 1-3 – Grace R. Duncan – paranormal, shifter, romance (book 3 was a wobble at 4 stars)
21 – Dinner for One – Meg Harding – contemporary romance
22 – Counting Fence Posts – Kelly Jensen – short story, contemporary, romance
23 – On Wings of Thunder – M.D. Grimm – paranormal, fantasy, angels/demons
24 – The Night Screams – Devon McCormack – contemporary, abuse, romance
25 – Femme – Marshall Thornton – contemporary, romance, self-discovery
Special Mention – Withered + Sere – T.J. Klune – alternative world, adventure, apocalypse (I’m due to read book 2 soon, but I don’t doubt that it will also make this list)
Leave a Reply

