interview · Pay It Forward · Writing

Getting to Know…Me

This is the first of a new feature, where we’ll be getting to know some of the authors that I’m friends with, have learned from and work with.

~

  • What can you tell me about yourself? I’m a Scottish author, who tends to stick to home in my stories. All my characters are Scottish or British. I write young adult and adult novels, both within the LGBT spectrum as well as traditional MF stories. I’m a pretty introverted loner type in real life, but I’m more outgoing online. I’m disabled, with a lot of health issues, but the silver lining is that I’m unable to “work” in a physical job, so I get to write for a living, which is a dream come true.

  • Where do you see yourself five years from now? Hopefully being more outgoing with my career; doing physical book tours, book signings and maybe even getting to see people recognising my name and associating it with my books and my genre.

  • What motivates you? Seeing my name in print. Knowing people read my stories and enjoy them. Basically, all the perks of being an author. And the incessant stories beating at the inside of my brain, demanding to be told. I don’t think it would be possible to not be a writer.

  • What are you working on at the minute? I’m currently writing a series of M/M BDSM novels, under the title By Appointment Only. The first (Grace) was nothing but notes for a whole year, until inspiration hit at the right moment. Then, somehow, I managed to write the whole first novel (58K) in just a few days. It was the most exhausting week of my life, but so worth it, because the story just wouldn’t leave me alone. I’ve started book 2 (Pretty Bird), have plans for book 3 (Jaded) and 4 (Kassidy), but there may be more, depending on how it goes and how many characters start badgering me for a story. 🙂

  • What is the strangest thing you’ve ever researched? Hmm, that would be telling. 😉 Let’s just say that it was for my BDSM novels and I am forever scarred for life. I wouldn’t do the same to you, by explaining what it was. I’ll leave it at this – I investigated something fairly innocuous, accidentally came across some videos of the more extreme and I will never unsee it.

  • Do you let the book stew – leave it for a month and then come back to it to edit? Absolutely and not really. lol. Sometimes, I’m so addicted to the book that I write in what feels like a really quick way, so I can’t remember if it all flows or if I’ve left a big gap somewhere. If I’m not ready to let the story go, I’ll edit right away, while I’m still in the right frame of mind. If I’m totally exhausted by writing the story or if I have other deadlines to get round to, I’ll leave it and get back to it when I’ve “forgotten” the details and read it for edits when it’s fairly new and fresh again.

  • Do you read much and, if so, who are your favourite authors? I devour books! It’s why I became a reviewer. My all time favourites would have to be Agatha Christie and Elizabeth Peters. For more contemporary authors: T.J. Klune, Caitlin Ricci, Yamila Abraham, Deanna Wadsworth, Jasper Black, Antonia Aquilante…and so many more! There are too many to count.

  • Favourite TV show for inspiration/distraction? Funnily enough, I watch a lot of house-buying, weight loss and gardening shows when I want background noise. When I need inspiration, it usually comes in the form of Documentaries (murder/history mostly) or crime show (CSI etc) and those paranormal/contemporary shows (Wynonna Earp, Bitten, The Originals etc). I find that good shows with great drama are the best thing to get my brain off a story and let me get “away” for a while, mentally. Then, when I get back to writing, I’m refreshed and ready to get cracking.

  • For your own reading, do you prefer e-books or traditional paper/hardback books? I love my e-books. Due to my disabilities, it’s painful for me to read a paperback/hardback, but at the same time, I can’t resist them. I’m a collector at heart, so I buy my favourites in paperback/hardback depending on what I can get my hands on.

  • What are you reading at present? I’m right in the middle of The Key of Belheith, book 1 in Lou Hoffman’s The Sun Child Chronicles. So far, it’s a great fantasy and mystery story. 🙂

  • What is your favourite book and why? My all time favourite has to be…the very first Amelia Peabody book “Crocodile on the Sandbank”, by Elizabeth Peters. It combines all of my favourite things: a feisty, strong female MC, a criminal mystery, archaeology, Egypt and a dash of romance.

  • Pen, type writer or computer? Computer, always. Unless I’m completely tech-deprived, then I’ll resort to a pen and paper only in the most dire of circumstances.

  • Do you write alone or in public? Alone, always at home. I prefer to work when I’m on my own, because there’s less distractions. But I’m okay working with one or two people in the background, if we’re watching TV or doing other things. But alone is always best.

  • Music or silence? Silence! I’m terrible. When there’s music on, I get distracted and start singing along. Or, worse, I just fade right into the music. It’s my third passion – Writing, Reading and then Music.

  • Goals of certain # of words a week or when inspiration strikes? Technically, I write all the time. Like, literally all day long. But I never limit myself. If something isn’t working or if I run out of time, I don’t care. I never have a set plan for how much I want to write a day/week. I prefer to go with the flow and only write when it feels right. If that means not writing anything in 2 weeks or writing non-stop for 12 hours, that’s what I’ll do.

  • If you could spend time a character from (any of) your book/s whom would it be? And what would you do during that day? Ooh, hard one. Okay, well I’m a total history buff, but I’ll never know as much as he does, so I’d love to sit down with Cormag (from the Decadent series) and just pick his brain about all the stuff he’s learned working at the museum. And he could give me a tour. Because I’m a geek like that. lol.

  • What is something memorable you have heard from your readers/fans? That I’m always better being me. I don’t really like to follow the crowd or write what is popular etc, though I know some authors that do that really successfully. I drift through various genres, but I’ve always known that romance was at the heart of everything I’d ever write. But, even when trying something new or a little “out there” my readers were so supportive in encouraging me to write what felt right, no matter what that might mean.

  • Do you have any hidden or uncommon talents? Hmm, I used to be able to play the keyboard. I was really advanced in that, in school, though I no longer have the ability to do it. I have a Certificate in Forensic Medicine and Science, a Certificate in Humanities (so arts and literature) as well as a Diploma in Higher Education Open. I used to study voraciously, after I left high school, because I couldn’t work, but then I shifted my focus to writing. I’m also pretty good at remembering stupid details, so TV shows, actors names, who was in what, and music lyrics. I was always welcome on teams at our school Christmas days, when we would do the “guess the song” games. Though I had a bad habit of singing or humming along and giving the game away, sometimes. 😉

  • What do you love most about the writing process? Discovering something about myself. There have been more than a few times where I’ve gone back to editing a book and thought “did I really write that?” or “where did that idea come from?”. I love coming up with new story ideas and seeing where it leads. I might plan the beginning, middle and end, but it will never end up exactly how I planned it and that’s exciting.

  • What do your friends and family think of your writing? My parents and family are so supportive. There are a few who aren’t exactly LGBT friendly (not naming names) but they never try to discourage me from writing what I want to write. They’re still supportive, even though they can’t understand it. And that’s amazing.

  • What advice would you give to your younger self? Don’t give up! I can’t count the amount of rejections I got (and the acceptances that asked for money! from reputable houses!) that basically told me I was no good or didn’t give me a reason at all. It took about 10 years for me to find my place and then everything just sort of happened at once. I wish I’d never let those first 5 rejections really get to me and stop me from looking for the right home, for such a long time. I’d probably also tell myself to get learning. I was so naive and blind to what I should have known. I just expected my publisher to do the promo and the editor to do all the editing. If I’d taken the time to learn properly, how to edit and how to promote myself, things could have been different, but it would also have been a whole lot easier!

  • So, what have you written?

Young Adult novels – The Secrets of Aveline Chronicles (Runaway Girl, Reckless Abandon), The Belesone Pack (The Alpha and the Oracle), Evanders School for Enchanted Personage (The School of Second Chances, The Lost and Lonely).

Memoir – An Unpredictable Life.

LGBT 18+ Novels – The Cellist, Clef Notes, Decadent Series (Decadent, The Other Side, Right Kind of Wrong, Underneath It All), A Royal Craving, Following Orders, The One That Got Away.

Anthologies – Hope & Love, Novel Hearts, Love Bites, Night of the Demon, Happily Ever After.

Contemporary – Courage in the Kiss

my-books

  • How can readers discover more about you and you work? Where can we buy or see them?

Website          Blog          Facebook          Twitter          LinkedIn          Pinterest          Goodreads          YouTube 

Amazon Author Page          Smashwords          BAM          Wattpad          BookLaunch           Tumblr

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to take part in this interview.

~

Elaine White is the author of multi-genre romance, covering everything from paranormal, crime and contemporary. Growing up in a small town and fighting cancer in her early teens taught her that life is short and dreams should be pursued. Living vicariously through her independent, and often hellion characters, she lives comfortably at home with a pack of wolves cleverly disguised as one standard poodle.

The Winner of two Watty Awards – Collector’s Dream (An Unpredictable Life) and Hidden Gem (Faithfully) – she has explored the worlds of multiple genres, but remains a romantic at heart. A self-professed geek, Elaine has fallen in love with reading and writing LGBT romance, offering diversity in both genre and character within her stories.

~

Leave a Reply

