interview · Pay It Forward · Quotes · Writing

Getting to Know…Nicole Thorn

  • What can you tell me about yourself? I’ve been writing since I was twenty. I do mostly paranormal romance, and I’m starting my 70th book today. Writing is pretty much my whole life. My best friends write, and I don’t have any hobbies or anything. I like to lock myself away in a dark bedroom and work at my laptop.

  • Where do you see yourself five years from now? I hope to keep up the pace I’ve set with getting books published. I would be happy if it paid the bills, and if I had a nice little stack of published books to set on my nightstand.

  • What motivates you? My writing partner. She’s always there to tell me if I’m being crazy, or if an idea I have is good or not. I don’t know where I’d be without her.

  • What are you working on at the minute? I have about four projects at the moment. The second book in a series I have with CHBB Publishing, two with my partner, and one in a series I don’t have signed yet.

  • What is the strangest thing you’ve ever researched? How much gas needs to fill an apartment before it blows up. But it wasn’t for me. Also, how to tie a noose. Also not for me.

  • Do you read much and, if so, who are your favourite authors? Sarah Hall, Michelle Hodkin, Kami Garcia

  • Favourite TV show for inspiration/distraction? Teen Wolf… I will admit. I watch a ton of MTV, so I really love Scream too. The Originals, The Simpsons. Ya know, anything violent, really.

  • For your own reading, do you prefer e-books or traditional paper/hardback books? Hardcover all the way. They look so much nicer on the shelf, and I don’t trust myself not to damage a paperback.

  • What is your favourite book and why? The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, because it’s one of the first really dark YA books I ever read. It also makes me feel better about how dark I get in books sometimes.

  • Pen, type writer or computer? Computer. The ability to save my progress or erase it is pure magic.

  • Do you write alone or in public? In my best friend’s bedroom, to be honest.

  • Music or silence? Music, though it distracts me a lot. It also accidentally gives me ideas a lot. I have little control.

  • Goals of certain # of words a week or when inspiration strikes? I have some set goals I always do 8,000 on Saturdays and Sundays. On weekdays I try and get 3,500 done every day.

  • Any website or resources that have been helpful to you as a writer? Not Facebook. I spend all my time dawdling on there instead of working.

  • What do your friends and family think of your writing? My friends are very supportive, because they’re writers too.

  • What advice would you give to your younger self? For the love of God, figure out past perfect and dialogue tags.

  • So, what have you written?

The Lost Ones (A Lament for the Lost)

Paperdolls (The Dollhouse)

Our Hearts are Lost (Your Heart is Mine)

Seers and Demigods (We Will Gain Our Fury)

Hellion (Bring Me to Life)

What Lies Beneath

nicole-thorn-books

  • How can readers discover more about you and you work? Where can we buy or see them?

Everything I write is on Amazon, and I have samples of most of my work on Wattpad. I also update my Facebook an obnoxious amount of times a day.

Website          Facebook           Twitter           Amazon US Author Page           Goodreads           Wattpad

 

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to take part in this interview.

~

Nicole Thorn

Nicole “Cappie” Thorn was born in California but, after a stint in Kansas, moved to a suburb of Phoenix. She spends a lot of her free time knitting and reading from her massive book collection. Her eclectic tastes, like Disneyland, Buffy and all things London, carry into her writing. She started writing in her early twenties and finds it wonderfully addictive.

~

Leave a Reply

