interview · Pay It Forward · Quotes · Writing

Getting to Know…Rue Volley

  • What can you tell me about yourself? I love art in all mediums. The only thing that’s more important to me than that is my husband, Von.
  • Where do you see yourself five years from now? Writing for films and comic books.

  • What motivates you? Providing the best life that I can for my family.

  • What are you working on at the minute? Hellhound (Episode one: Dead is Dead) and A Witch’s Tale (book two)

  • What is the strangest thing you’ve ever researched? How many ways you can murder someone.

  • Do you let the book stew – leave it for a month and then come back to it to edit? No, once I start a book I write on it until the draft is done. Then I go back in and embellish it with extended scenes, change up word usage, check grammar and plot.

  • Do you read much and, if so, who are your favourite authors? I do read a little bit every day. I love Stephen King, JK Rowling, Anne Rice, JD Salinger, Ransom Riggs (just to name a few).

  • Favourite TV show for inspiration/distraction? Stranger Things, Supernatural, Sherlock, Parks and Recreation, Hannibal, Justified, @Midnight, Lucifer.

  • For your own reading, do you prefer e-books or traditional paper/hardback books? Paperbacks.

  • What are you reading at present? Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

  • What is your favourite book and why? I have many, if I mention one the rest will riot.

  • Pen, type writer or computer? Computer.

  • Do you write alone or in public? Alone.

  • Music or silence? Music.

  • Goals of certain # of words a week or when inspiration strikes? I goal myself a chapter (or two) a day. My chapters run anywhere from eight to twelve pages. I don’t like to start a chapter and then take a break, it ruins the flow for me.

  • If you could spend time a character from (any of) your book/s whom would it be? And what would you do during that day? (Please let me know if it’s 18+ only 😉 All of the characters in my Blood & Light vampire series. It was the first series that I ever wrote and it taught me so much about writing and character development. It’s six novels long and every character in it holds a special place in my heart.

  • What is the toughest criticism given to you as an author? The first one star review is the toughest for any author. You either suck it up and listen (because sometimes they have a valid point if it’s a thoughtful review and not an attack on the author) or you hide and quit. I chose to listen and become stronger.

  • What has been the best compliment? “Finding your books changed my life for the better.”

  • What is something memorable you have heard from your readers/fans? That they use my quotes for tattoos.

  • Do you have any hidden or uncommon talents? Not really hidden. I play violin, guitar, piano, drums, and bass. I also sing on occasion. I played in a signed band for over a decade and toured the world as an opening act. I was grateful for the opportunity and it paid the bills.

  • What do you love most about the writing process? When the editing comes together and the final product starts to show itself.

  • Do you have a day job in addition to being a writer? If so, what do you do during the day? I’m a retail manager in a clothing store. I’m also the head of creative design for CHBB Publishing and I handle a majority of the eBook covers and print wraps.

  • Any website or resources that have been helpful to you as a writer? Too many to mention. The best thing you can ever do and open Google and type in what you’re looking for, it’s all right there.

  • What do your friends and family think of your writing? They love it, which really made me happy.

  • What character in your book/s are you least likely to get along with? None of them. There’s truth in everything I write and a little bit of me in every character that I create.

  • Do you think that giving books away free works and why? I’ve given thousands of books away early on in my career. It helped me collect a strong beta team, but I rarely do free books now. I don’t think you have to do them that often and it should be a special occasion. If you constantly give your work away then why would anyone feel the need to buy it? It’s time that Indie authors maintain a higher price point on their work.

  • How do you relax? Videogames and movies.

  • What advice would you give to your younger self? Save up a TON of money to do this. It costs a lot to market and promote yourself. If I knew then what I know now I wouldn’t have released a book without a budget of at least $2000-$3000 to do it properly with ads, blog tours, edits, cover work, and so on. It sounds like a lot of money but it actually isn’t. I know authors who have spent upwards of $10,000 on a book release.

  • So, what have you written?

    The Blood & Light Vampire Series

    (Blood and Light, Smoke and Mirrors, Oil and Water, Clarity and Reason, Grace & Beauty, Hope & Faith)

    The Devil’s Gate Trilogy (The Devil’s Gate, The Devil’s Fire, The Devil’s Kiss)

    Hellhound Series (Hellhound, Dogs of War, Prince of Fire)

    Hellhound Origins (Tale of the Red Dragon, Tale of Two Brothers)

    The Golden Crown Series (The Bitter End, The Twin Dragons, The Golden Crown)

    One Bite, Razor Saga, Double Gun Dealer, Paranormal Playground, Finding Mia, Finding Chloe, Paper Dolls, Stardust, Surrender, and A Witch’s Tale.

 

rue-volley-books-1

  • How can readers discover more about you and you work? Where can we buy or see them?

Website            Blog            Facebook            Twitter            LinkedIn            Amazon US Author Page

Pinterest

 

 

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to take part in this interview.

~

rue-volley-2

Rue Volley is the author of The Devil’s Gate Trilogy, Hellhound, The Blood & Light Vampire Series, a witch’s tale, and various novella’s released both independently and within anthologies.

Rue is an award-winning author, graphic artist, and screenwriter.
She is credited with two films.
Hellhound (original script, 2014)
Awakening (contributing screenwriter, 2015)
IMDb: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm7043310/

Miss. Volley began her writing career in 2008 as she penned her freshman effort, The Blood & Light Vampire Series. She self-published the first novel in 2010 and within six months she was courted and signed by Vamptasy Publishing (UK).

Over the course of the next five years, she released over thirty books establishing herself in the publishing world as a prolific writer. She is best known for dark fantasy and mystery erotica. Bringing her wicked (somewhat dark) sense of humor and perfected ability to create engaging characters to her ever-growing fan base. 

Rue has a deep love for comic books and film. She gives credit to amazing artists like Garth Ennis, Alan Moore, Frank Miller, Neil Gaiman, and of course, Stan Lee, for her love of the written word. 

Rue enjoys walks by the lake, small town living, and spending time with her family. She loves coffee, chocolate, and believes in love, as twisted as it can be.

Rue is represented by Gladys Gonzales Atwell, Publicist, and Hot Ink Press, Publisher.

~

Leave a Reply

