interview · Pay It Forward · Writing

Getting to Know…Kay Ellis

  • What can you tell me about yourself? I’m a little bit OCD about the strangest things. The volume has to be on an even number which is a fairly common one, but there’s others like not touching the car after I’ve locked it (otherwise I have to unlock it and lock it again!) and only filling a glass or cup two thirds of the way up.

  • What are you working on at the minute? As yet untitled – it’s a follow up to Macho with one of the secondary characters stepping up to take the lead.

  •  What is the strangest thing you’ve ever researched? Nothing really way out there. I did ask a male stripper how long it would take to lose his muscle mass if he was kidnapped!

  • Do you let the book stew – leave it for a month and then come back to it to edit? No, but I tend to have 3 – 4 ongoing works at the same time and I swap between them depending on which calls to me the most so I can go a couple of months without working on a particular one.

  • Do you read much and, if so, who are your favourite authors? I read all the time and have so many favourites. JR Ward and The Black Dagger Brotherhood, Jaclyn Osborne and…well everything she writes, Tille Cole and The Hangmen series, Terry Pratchett and his Discworld books – the list is endless.

  • Favourite TV show for inspiration/distraction? Sons of Anarchy. I’d love to write something so gritty. It’s clever too, the way it all comes together at the end.

  • For your own reading, do you prefer e-books or traditional paper/hardback books? Both, although I do tend to stick more to my Kindle these days.

  • What are you reading at present? The Red Sun Rises boxset by Victoria Kinnaird.

  • What is your favourite book and why? Way, way too many to pick just one. Going back to my childhood though, it was Little Women by Louisa M Alcott.

  • Pen, type writer or computer? These days it’s my laptop but I used to write everything by hand.

  • Do you write alone or in public? Better alone. For some reason I get a mental block when other people are around.

  • Music or silence? Usually the TV is on. I amaze myself by writing and watching TV at the same time!

  • Goals of certain # of words a week or when inspiration strikes? When inspiration strikes because my characters ‘talk’ to me. If they have nothing to say I have nothing to write and all the word targets in the world aren’t going to change that.

  • If you could spend time a character from (any of) your book/s whom would it be? And what would you do during that day? Probably Alex and Stefan from Macho. We would go to Nandos. Stefan would be excitable and talk nineteen to the dozen and Alex would sulk at all the attention he attracted.

  • What is the toughest criticism given to you as an author? I was told by a big, well known publisher that my work was more suited to a ‘niche market’. The exact same day I got offered a contract for my first m/m short story. I’ve found my niche and I couldn’t be happier.

  • What has been the best compliment? That I made someone cry!

  • What is something memorable you have heard from your readers/fans? I was on the tube in London a couple of years ago and I said to my friend “one day I want to be on a train and see someone reading one of my books.” Earlier this year, a reader said she’d been reading Macho on the train on her way to work. I might not have seen her doing it, but it really made my day.

  • Do you have a day job in addition to being a writer? If so, what do you do during the day? I’m an administrator for a waste management company. It’s all terribly boring and a lot of the time I spend planning what I’m going to write when I get home.

  • What do your friends and family think of your writing? I usually get the impression they’re not their interested. They tell me they’re proud of me but, other than my mum, none of my family are big readers so they’ve never actually read my stuff anyway.

  •  What character in your book/s are you least likely to get along with? Erica in Young At Heart. She was a cold, hearted snob. And there’s a character in my next book, Fantasize, who is a very arrogant wannabe-reality-tv-star who thinks he’s God’s gift to the world in general.

  • Do you think that giving books away free works and why? Definitely. I’ve bought books by several authors that I discovered via freebies and might not have looked at otherwise.

  • How do you relax? Reading. Watching films.

  • What advice would you give to your younger self? Keep your chin up because you’ll get through it and life gets better.

  • So, what have you written?

The Evolin Series (Fireheart, the Fallen and The Fire King), Iceheart (short story), Young At Heart, Life By Even Numbers (short story), Renegade Heart, Macho, Little One (short story) and a poem- How I Love – in the Love Is Love Anthology

kay-ellis-books

  • How can readers discover more about you and you work? Where can we buy or see them?

Facebook          Twitter          Instagram

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to take part in this interview.

~

Kay Ellis lives in rural Oxfordshire with her two daughters. She has written stories from an early age, starting with an epic adventure penned at primary school which sadly had to end when a hard-hearted teacher refused to supply any more writing paper.

Over the years Kay’s style has changed as she has grown more confident in her writing, developing a relaxed and informal style. She has also become braver in content, turning her hand to writing gay and straight erotica.

Kay writes for the love of writing and from a fear her head will explode if she doesn’t have a release for her vivid imagination.

It’s only now Kay has found the courage to submit work for publication, having recently finished in the top three of a national writing competition.

~

Leave a Reply

