interview · Pay It Forward · Quotes · Writing

Getting to Know…Nicky James

  • What can you tell me about yourself? My name is Nicole James and I write under Nicky James. Mother to a wonderful teenage boy and wife to a loving, supportive husband. I am a lover of the past and hater of technology (even though I’ve grown accustomed to it).
  • Where do you see yourself five years from now? Hopefully shifting my profession closer to becoming a full time author

  • What motivates you? Coffee. Very little else. Writing is like a drug in itself; without it I would be lost.

  • What are you working on at the minute? A whole lot of things. I just completed my first Historical M/M Romance titled “Until the End of Time”. I am on the cusp of Releasing my only contemporary M/M Romance “Trusting Tanner” and I’m plotting out thoughts for about three different projects; some standalone and some sequels/spinoffs to other projects.

  • What is the strangest thing you’ve ever researched? Ha!! Well let’s see…How to make an oil from herbs that can kill you if applied to a weapon. How to cure said poison if afflicted and most recently, a complete breakdown of the laws around buggery in the 19th century (and what was required to fully convict a man to be hanged).

  • Do you let the book stew – leave it for a month and then come back to it to edit? Yes….most of the time. Many of my earlier books stewed repeatedly for round after round of edits because I was too afraid to publish them. Now, they stew but only for a couple weeks before I re-edit and do something about it. I have one still stewing and has been for almost a year. It’s been edited every two or three months. Probably should publish it.

  • Do you read much and, if so, who are your favourite authors? I am as addicted to reading as writing. I don’t sleep for this reason. I author hop a lot so I don’t think I have a favourite. In my m/m genre, I am currently taken by the twisted and dark ways of Quil Carter and his incredible “Fallocaust” series. I also am a big fan of Santino Hassel, Kade Boehme, Ashley John, Jaclyn Osborn and Nicola Haken. Outside my genre I’m an Outlander girl by Dianne Gabaldon and Game of Thrones by of course the great George R Martin.

  • Favourite TV show for inspiration/distraction? I am not a TV girl. Don’t watch it at all.

  • For your own reading, do you prefer e-books or traditional paper/hardback books? All-time favourites get bought in paper/hard copy otherwise it’s mostly kindle for me. I’m not rich enough. Lol!

  • What are you reading at present? Captive Prince by C.S Pacat (Book 3) Looooving it ❤

  • What is your favourite book and why? Gah….just one?!?!?! I’ll have to say the first Outlander book by Diane Gabaldon. It started me on a journey of the heart I will never forget and by accident it introduced me to m/m romance where I was converted and loved ever since. (Lord John Grey and his spin off series of course)

  • Pen, type writer or computer? Computer

  • Do you write alone or in public? Alone

  • Music or silence? Silence

  • Goals of certain # of words a week or when inspiration strikes? I don’t set goals. I write as much or as little as my heart and boys speak to me. Sometime it’s an insane amount in a day, other times it’s menial.

  • If you could spend time a character from (any of) your book/s whom would it be? And what would you do during that day? This is the hardest question ever. I lived with my character Brandon from “Tales from Edovia Series” in my head for eight years. He is my imaginary gay bff and always will be, so it feels wrong to choose any other character. However, I will chose Simon from my most recent story “Until the End of Time” for this question and hope Brandon understands. What would we be doing? We’d be laying on his bed in his mansion enjoying all night pillow talk. He’s the most interesting man I’ve ever known and he too suffers from insomnia. He’s ordinarily quiet and kind of shy, so it’s the best place to get to know him better.

  • What is the toughest criticism given to you as an author? That I am too afraid to write sex scenes and shouldn’t be writing m/m romance. My books vary in heat level significantly from erotic to fade to black. Honestly, I write what the story demands. I’m not afraid, I assure you.

  • What has been the best compliment? Someone told me recently while beta reading my latest book that it took their breath away and left them with goose bumps. Days later the same person messaged me and said “this needs to be a movie, I want to watch it.”

  • What is something memorable you have heard from your readers/fans? “I just want to live there and never come back. I’d be Brandon’s best friend and tease Alistair all the time.” Referring to “Tales from Edovia” series

  • Do you have any hidden or uncommon talents? Haha!! Ummm…I knit.

  • What do you love most about the writing process? Words. I love bringing all the feelings I feel and see in my head to life on the page. Making the feeling pop through words.

  • Do you have a day job in addition to being a writer? If so, what do you do during the day? I am a support worker and I work in group homes supporting people with developmental disabilities. I make peoples dreams come true for a living. It’s the most gratifying job.

  • Any website or resources that have been helpful to you as a writer? Funny enough…Pinterest.

  • What do your friends and family think of your writing? They are supportive and proud of me for following my dreams.

  • What character in your book/s are you least likely to get along with? Hmmm….I find this question hard because there is something I love about all my characters and I feel I’ve needed to get along with them all in order to write them. That being said, I’m not outgoing or thrill seeking so I can see Aaron (Tales from Edovia 2) and I having trouble hanging out for too long. Too much energy!!

  • How do you relax? I write. It is my stress relief after a long day at work.

  • What advice would you give to your younger self? Follow your dreams and don’t listen to your English teachers.

  • So, what have you written? 

Tales from Edovia (Something from Nothing, Buried Truths, Secrets Best Untold)

Trusting Tanner, Until the End of Time, Steel my Heart

nicole-james-books

  • How can readers discover more about you and you work? Where can we buy or see them?

Blog                 Personal Facebook                 Facebook Author Page                  Twitter

Amazon US Author Page   Goodreads

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to take part in this interview.

~

Nicky James live in the small town of Petrolia, Ontario, Canada and is mother to a wonderful teenage boy and wife to a truly supportive and understanding husband, who thankfully doesn’t think she is crazy.

Nicky has always had two profound dreams in life; to fall back hundreds of years in time and live in a simpler world, not bogged down by technology and to write novels. Since one of those dreams is impossible, she decided to make the other come alive on paper.

Nicky writes mm romance novels that take place in fantastical, medieval type settings and loves to use the challenges of the times to give her stories and characters life.
Nicky has also ventured into writing other sub genres of mm romance including contemporary, historical and Mythological. Look for new titles coming soon.

~

Leave a Reply

