interview · Pay It Forward · Quotes · Writing

Getting to Know…Enjay Taylor

YOUR CHANCE TO WIN: a free e-copy of The Curse of Mary by purchasing a copy of the prequel – All Legends, The Chronicles of Being Isisti – and providing a screenshot of your purchase. Bonus entries: commenting on THIS post AND in Enjay’s Facebook event – All Legends, One Event, Three Authors. Provide a screenshot of both comments, then share this link or the event and send to Enjay on FB to provide proof of entry.

~

  • What can you tell me about yourself? I am a British Horror, Dark fantasy and Erotica author. I live in Lancashire, England with four cats (I must be mad) and I love music, thunderstorms and entertaining.
  • Where do you see yourself five years from now? I hope to be more establish writer with a lot more titles under my belt, win a few awards and hope to collaborate with a few Horror authors. I would also like to be in the process of making The Curse of Mary in to a movie.

  • What motivates you? People, life and Art.

  • What are you working on at the minute? I am working on a couple of novels, the first being titled The Ancient Ones and the second un-named. I am also making notes, researching and mapping out the sequel to The Curse of Mary. All very exciting.

  • What is the strangest thing you’ve ever researched? This is a interesting question, I am going to have to say BDSM, there are no bounds (pun intended) to fantasy and thus fetish and the BDSM community who are a lovely bunch never fail to surprise and amaze me.

  • Do you let the book stew – leave it for a month and then come back to it to edit? Yes, very much so. I know as long as I get to The End mark, I can go back around, change things, expand areas and really work on those characters. I think we need breaks after each draft, a week of doing nothing but relaxing, clearing your mind of everything and then go back and begin again. I also take two weeks off when a book is finished so when I go to work on something new, I can without thinking of that old story line and characters.

  • Do you read much and, if so, who are your favourite authors? I used to read a lot more before becoming an author. Graham Masterton has always been a favourite, Barbra Erskine and I will never not read Clive Barker.

  • Favourite TV show for inspiration/distraction? Inspiration, I don’t watch TV for this reason because I want my work to be my own and not so much taking ideas from others, if I had to name one it would be the NEWS. Distraction, I love those vampire shows, AHS, Supernatural and the crime dramas like Criminal Minds and Law & Order SUV.

  • For your own reading, do you prefer e-books or traditional paper/hardback books? Traditional paperbacks. Simple, I think or should hope most authors do. It is where and how our love for the craft began and on a personal note, I love the process of a paperback, turning the pages, the rustle and smell. The repositioning yourself depending on which page you are reading, balancing book and plate when eating and so on.

  • What are you reading at present? I am mainly reading my own work at the moment because I tend not to read others work while writing as I wouldn’t want their story influencing mine. However, I began helping a lovely lady called Helen Yates, she is a talented writer who needs confidence and a chance to work in this industry and her book The Nights of Fire is a very good read.

  • What is your favourite book and why? I read a book when I first began reading horror called House of Echos, Barbra Erskine and you can really only read it the once because after you know the punch line, it will never make the same impact. I have re-read it a few times and love it because it is well written and just is a good story.

  • Pen, type writer or computer? Computer for the grand scheme of things but I write notes by hand and then revisit those notes later while at the computer. I would love a typewriter, though.

  • Do you write alone or in public? Alone, I am too easily distracted to write while I am around other people or have music on. I have the TV on as back ground noise but that is it.

  • Music or silence? Silence. I love music too much and is again, a distraction.

  • Goals of certain # of words a week or when inspiration strikes? I never used to set goals but these days I work to deadlines and so goals are needed. I aim for a chapter a day, which is around 2k or more, sometimes just under.

  • If you could spend time a character from (any of) your book/s whom would it be? And what would you do during that day? This one is easy, Isisti. He is the demon from The Curse of Mary which is 18+, book. Isisti is so interesting and wise. I would sit and chat with him, ask about all the things he knows and we would just hang out.

  • What is the toughest criticism given to you as an author? It was by a top, seasoned author who I admire. They told me I had a long way to go and that the book needed a lot of work. The book in question hit best sellers, it got me signed to the biggest and best indie publishing house in the US Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly, the imprint Vamptasy so it was a bit of a shocker to read their comments but I did learn from that author, I took on board everything they said and thought, this is my journey, not yours. I will continue to do what got me here in the first place.

  • What has been the best compliment? Being told that The Curse of Mary changed a reader’s life. Reading readers conversations with each other over which characters and parts they loved and being compared to Lovecraft, Hammer Horror and Tolkien.

  • What is something memorable you have heard from your readers/fans? I remember a reader and a huge fan of The Curse of Mary running around social media yelling, ‘Isisti, my favourite demon!’ lol. Safe to say I had a big smile on my face. I asked if they would beta read the prequel and they jumped at the chance. I will never forget that reaction, I live for it.

  • Do you have any hidden or uncommon talents? Hmmm, depends on what answer you want, the over 18+ or the PG answer. I will say I have instinct like no other. My instincts are super sharp. I can cook. I am a qualified chef but never worked in professional kitchen.

  • What do you love most about the writing process? I love asking the readers what they know about any given subject. I love the finish line when the reviews pour in. Good or bad reviews, everyone is entitled to their opinion. I love them all.

  • Do you have a day job in addition to being a writer? If so, what do you do during the day? I am a full time writer. I have Bi-Polar and this hinders me and having a full time normal job, it always has. Since the death of my mother in 2014, I had an emotional break down and was signed off work indefinitely, this was a relief and I could concentrate on my writing, because I didn’t want to just do nothing. That would be being a lazy fart. I wanted to follow my heart and mind and occupy my time constructively.

  • Any website or resources that have been helpful to you as a writer? Rue Volley is a walking, talking and breathing beautiful package of endless information, advice and none bull shit style of telling me and others what is what. I love her so much for it.

  • What do your friends and family think of your writing? I have no idea, I never ask. It is none of my business what others think of me and what it is that I am doing.

  • What character in your book/s are you least likely to get along with? A few of the Cambelles from The Curse of Mary like Walter and Edward. Those two are horrid people and I would have done my worst if I had been Mary.

  • Do you think that giving books away free works and why? I am super selective about who gets a freebie. I have some really good fans that are my betas too. I will bend over backwards to make sure they get first dibs on freebies.

  • How do you relax? Hot bubble bath, candles, wine and music.

  • What advice would you give to your younger self? Save money, you are going to need it. Don’t be a straight up bitch, chill the hell out and shut up, you don’t have to tell everyone your opinion just because it is honest, unless asked.

  • So, what have you written? 

The Curse of Mary (The Curse of Mary, The Chronicles of being Isisti)

Anthologies: Slice Girls

The Fallen Ones, Berlin War, The Ancient Ones and Call of the Moon.

Freebies and available on BooksieSilk.com: Cult of Desire, The Willow’s Grave and Desires of Havoc. Duo Pantheon with Carmilla Voiez.

enjay-taylor-books

  • How can readers discover more about you and you work? Where can we buy or see them?

Website           Tumblr            Facebook            Twitter            Amazon Author Page            Goodreads

All Legends is release October 14th 2016, prequel to The Curse of Mary

 

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to take part in this interview.

~

12814130_444498699085647_5959015014794154223_n

Nicolajayne Taylor is a British Horror writer, signed with the United States based indie publishing giant Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly and their imprint Vamptasy. She encourages and helps other authors to further their career in any which way she can.
As a horror fan, her inspiration comes from both British and US horror. Her books are horror with steamy sex scenes that will have you running for a cold shower or grabbing your partner for a quickie.
She is passionate for history, the paranormal and mythology. So many of her stories feature if not one, but all of these passions that thrust you into a dark fantasy world that you can feel, taste, see and hear. It is spookery like no other.
Born in the Lancashire, a place called the Ribble Valley and grew up in a Merseyside town called Southport, Enjay has been surrounded by fun loving people in which to stay grounded no matter how far from home she travels.

~

One thought on “Getting to Know…Enjay Taylor

Leave a Reply

