interview · Pay It Forward · Quotes · Writing

Getting to Know…Lily Luchesi

  • What can you tell me about yourself? I’m a writer, fangirl, dreamer, Goth, bisexual, vampire-loving introvert. I write books for a living.
  • Where do you see yourself five years from now? Hopefully having at least fifteen books released across the horror and erotica genres (I’m working on my first LGBT erotica novel now and it is exciting!), having created a large fanbase of readers who love what I do and feelers out for possible TV shows based on my work. (It’s a dream of mine to see some of my work on the big or small screens.)

  • What motivates you? Everything. I’ve had a lot go against me in life, from circumstances from the outside world to illnesses. I’ve had many people tell me I can’t do what I do, and I love being able to prove them wrong. And prove myself right as well. I come from a long line of strong women, all of whom made their own way in life ever since my great grandparents immigrated from Italy to America in the early 1900s. I want to continue making my family proud.

  • What are you working on at the minute? I have many WIPs right now. Currently, I am editing my next Paranormal Detectives novel, Right To Silence. I’m three fourths of the way finished with the fifth PDS book–as yet to be titled–and am plotting another spinoff, all to be released next year.

  • What is the strangest thing you’ve ever researched? Are you ready for this? There have been times I thought that if anyone saw my browser history they’d lock me up in an asylum and throw away the key. My favorite was torture devices and execution methods used in the nineteenth century. I have also searched for specific demons who only possess children, how a heart can continue to beat outside the body, and how to properly administer an air embolism and how long it takes to die from one. There’s much more. The thing with writing horror and paranormal is that the sky is the limit.

  • Do you let the book stew – leave it for a month and then come back to it to edit? I leave it for two weeks after I finish the first draft. Then I go in and make fresh changes, send it off to the beta readers, make changes sometimes based on their suggestions, and then it goes to the publisher. Between then and when the editor gets it, I might do another round of edits to be sure everything is as it should be.

  • Do you read much and, if so, who are your favourite authors? I am an avid reader. I taught myself to read when I was not even three. My mom and grandmother instilled a love of books in me my entire life. I read a lot of the classics (Stoker, the Bronte sisters, Austen, Poe, Shakespeare, Tolkien, amongst others), along with Stephen King, Darren Shan, JK Rowling, and many of my fellow indie and small press authors. Of course I read my publisher’s authors, along with Stephen Kozeniewski, Katie Keller-Neiman, and a few others. If I could list them all, I would.

  • Favourite TV show for inspiration/distraction? Supernatural. I have watched them since day one in 2005 and reference them in my books during the more lighthearted moments.

  • For your own reading, do you prefer e-books or traditional paper/hardback books? Whatever I can get my hands on. E-books are convenient, but I will always love the feel of a real book in my hands. I buy as many hardcovers as I can.

  • What are you reading at present? Actually, something very out of character for me: “The Wedding Shop” by Rachel Hauk. It’s really good so far, and I am pleasantly surprised.

  • What is your favourite book and why? Jane Eyre” by Charlotte Bronte. I read it when I was fifteen and it was my first real experience with an adult book that made me really feel a myriad of emotions. It left a permanent mark on my heart.

  • Pen, type writer or computer? Computer. My hand is too slow to write longhand, and my handwriting is awful. Even I can’t read it sometimes!

  • Do you write alone or in public? Usually I prefer to be at home.

  • Music or silence? Music. I include a playlist in every book, because sometimes certain songs will either influence a scene or will remind me very strongly of a scene in my WIP.

  • Goals of certain # of words a week or when inspiration strikes? I try to write two thousand words per day, but that doesn’t always happen. I write six out of seven days a week, and usually make 6k words a week.

  • If you could spend time a character from (any of) your book/s whom would it be? And what would you do during that day? I’d love to meet Angelica Cross (pre-Life Sentence” days). As I’ve written her, I discovered she’s so much more than even I thought. I’d love to hear her stories, see her childhood manor in London, and explore Chicago’s Underworld with her.

  • What is the toughest criticism given to you as an author? I’ve gotten a lot of criticism, most of it well-meaning. I don’t think any criticism has ever been hard to swallow for me. I’ve got thick skin.

  • What has been the best compliment? A reviewer (Jessica Wren) called me the next Stephen King. That, for me, was the crowning moment of my career.

  • What is something memorable you have heard from your readers/fans? There have been a few things readers have said. The one that sticks out for me the most are when readers compliment Angelica’s uniqueness and how different she is from other female characters in paranormal fiction.

  • Do you have any hidden or uncommon talents? Does being a great cook count? I’ve been in the kitchen since I could stand up on my own and was cooking by myself from the time I was nine. Just last night I made “light” eggplant parmesan, in fact! I love to cook almost as much as I love to write.

  • What do you love most about the writing process? The unpredictability. I just wrote a scene two days ago that made me stop and do a double-take. I never planned this plot twist, and I love it! Discovering things that sometimes feel as if they never came from my own mind is so thrilling.

  • Do you have a day job in addition to being a writer? If so, what do you do during the day? I do not. I am currently in serious therapy for multiple issues including depression, anxiety, insomnia, night terrors, and PTSD.

  • Any website or resources that have been helpful to you as a writer? My publishing family. Their advice has been invaluable to me. Otherwise, I really just wing everything. Unless you mean a website like Grammarly, because I love them.

  • What do your friends and family think of your writing? My mom is my biggest fan and my most brutal critic. She supports me unconditionally. My friends support me, share, and buy my work. It’s nice to see that they are so involved with my career.

  • What character in your book/s are you least likely to get along with? Fiona Guilfoyle, the witch who is trying to kill Angelica. I created her based on a real life person I dislike, so it stands to reason I’d dislike her as well. She’s very conceited and thinks she’s entitled to everything just because she’s older than Angelica and has natural-born power.

  • Do you think that giving books away free works and why? Yes, but not often. I have done two free days in my two years of publishing and each time having one book free really helps push the sales of the other books. I also do giveaways on FB parties and have made readers from them as well.

  • How do you relax? I binge-watch Supernatural or sit down and watch concerts on YouTube. The louder the music, the better I feel.

  • What advice would you give to your younger self? Calm down! Sit up straight, hold your head high, and stop wanting to die. Those rejection letters won’t matter soon, and things do get better.

  • So, what have you written? 

Paranormal Detectives Series (Stake-Out, Miranda’s Rights, Life Sentence, and the upcoming Right To Silence).

I have also written short stories in the following anthologies: Naughty Bedtime Stories: In Three Words, Death Love Lust, and Lurking In The Shadows.

Stake-Out won third place in two different contests for best male villain.

lily-luchesi-books

  • How can readers discover more about you and you work? Where can we buy or see them?

Website         Facebook         Twitter         Amazon US Author Page         Goodreads

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to take part in this interview.

~

Lily Luchesi is a young author/poet born in Chicago, Illinois, now residing in Los Angeles, California. Ever since she was a toddler her mother noticed her tendency for being interested in all things “dark”. At two she became infatuated with vampires and ghosts, and that infatuation turned into a lifestyle by the time she was twelve, and, as her family has always been what they now call “Gothic”, she doesn’t believe she shall ever change. She is also a hopeless romantic and avid music-love who will always associate vampires with love, blood, and rock and roll.
Her interest in poetry came around the same time as when she was given a book of Edgar Allan Poe’s complete work. She then realized that she had been writing her own poetry since she could hold a pen, and just had not known the correct terms. She finished her first manuscript at the age of fourteen, and was first published at twenty-one.

~

Leave a Reply

