Pay It Forward · Quotes · Writing

Happy Birthday To Me!

cb1615673b8c009b4d4251dac066e3f1

Yup, you read that right. I’m turning 30 TODAY! Or, rather, I turned 30 at 1-ish this morning. 😉

This is a big deal for two reasons. 1- I’m thirty! That means proper adulting and stuff. WooHoo! 2- I’m thirty! I made it.

It’s a really huge milestone for me, as are most of my birthdays. I’m not someone who likes to celebrate birthdays much. It’s just another day, except I get presents and I get to choose the movie/dinner options. But since we thought I’d never make it to my 17th birthday, then stood around staring in shock when I made it to 21, this is pretty huge. I mean, EPIC, huge!

For those who follow the blog or have read An Unpredictable Life, you’ll know that I had stage 4 Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma when I was 15. Now, stage 4 is basically a death sentence to anyone you ask about cancer. Somehow, thanks to some amazing researchers and doctors, I came out the other side of that. It’s now been 13 years since my diagnosis. A week ago today, it would be 13 years exactly.

I’m happy to say that my life has changed hugely since then. I’m no longer writing in secret and pretending that it’s not my dream. I’m a published author, with dozens of books released and dozens more to come. Most importantly, I’m still here and still able to have new dreams, make new plans and enjoy whatever time I have from now on.

Every day of the last 13 years has been a miracle. Every day from here on out is a gift.

~

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday To Me!

Leave a Reply

