interview · Pay It Forward · Quotes · Writing

Getting to Know…Laurencia Hoffman

  • What are you working on at the minute? The Wages of Sin series in ongoing. I’m currently working on the second to last book in the series with my writing partner. Other than that, I’ve been trying to finish my fantasy novel. Wish me luck on that one!

  • What is the strangest thing you’ve ever researched? I mostly have to research illnesses or sometimes how a certain wound would affect someone, how they would heal, things like that. I cringe at some of the things that I have to look up, it makes me look like a crazy person! But I don’t think I’ve researched anything strange so far. Just creepy.

  • Do you let the book stew – leave it for a month and then come back to it to edit? Oh yes, I have to. I’m not able to jump immediately into editing after I’ve finished a book. I need time to relax and take a break. But I also take time away from it so that I can come back to it with somewhat fresh eyes – it helps me catch the mistakes.

  • Favourite TV show for inspiration/distraction? I have so many that it would be impossble to name them all. I mainly watch TV shows or movies for my inspiration, so it really depends on the mood of my muse.

  • For your own reading, do you prefer e-books or traditional paper/hardback books? Definitely paperbacks. I’m already sitting at my computer most of the time. If I’m going to read a book, I don’t want to stare at a screen again. I’d rather have a physical copy in my hand.

  • Pen, type writer or computer? It used to be the pen, but when I sit down to write, the words come faster than I can type them. So I prefer a computer simply because typing is faster. But if I’m away from home, or the scene is slow anyway, I’ll still use a pen and paper.

  • Do you write alone or in public? Always alone. I can’t concentrate if I’m in public…unless I’m wearing headphones.

  • Music or silence? Most of the time I use music, but there are times when I’m just going to write a quick scene that doesn’t need music. Or I can’t find music that puts me into the mood that’s right for the scene, so I’ll go without in that case.

  • Goals of certain # of words a week or when inspiration strikes? When inspiration strikes. I try to set goals but I never reach them. It puts too much pressure on me and stresses me out, so I just write when I want to and try not to worry about how much or little I’m actually writing.

  • What character in your book/s are you least likely to get along with? Blake Auckley, without a doubt. He’s not someone that any normal, sane, mentally and emotionally healthy human being would want to hang out with!

  • Do you have a day job in addition to being a writer? If so, what do you do during the day? I preserve wedding bouquets and make natural products.

  • So, what have you written?

Laurencia Hoffman Books :

Casting Stones, Bittersweet, A Wish for Remembrance

Wages of Sin (Bad Blood, Flesh and Blood)

Jolene Poole Books:

Star Crossed: Worlds Apart

  • How can readers discover more about you and you work? Where can we buy or see them?

Facebook                Twitter                Amazon US Author Page                Goodreads                    Tumblr

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to take part in this interview.

~

Laurencia Hoffman

Laurencia Hoffman is the author of five published books; Casting Stones, Wages of Sin: Bad Blood, A Wish for Remembrance, Bittersweet and Star Crossed: Worlds Apart (published under her legal name: Jolene Poole).

Laurencia lives with her family in Michigan. When she’s not writing she also enjoys making her own line of natural products, and watching films.

~

Leave a Reply

