interview · Pay It Forward · Quotes · Writing

Getting to Know…Sarah Hall

  • What can you tell me about yourself? I’ve been writing since I was thirteen, and I finished my first book at fifteen. Most of what I spend my time doing is writing, or playing with puppies.
  • What are you working on at the minute? I’ve got four things in the works right now, including a ghost story, and the third book in a trilogy.

  • Do you let the book stew – leave it for a month and then come back to it to edit? I start editing the day after I finish, have someone go over it for me, and then edit again before I start the next book in the series.

  • Do you read much and, if so, who are your favourite authors? I usually read 2-3 books a week. Pretty much anything Urban Fantasy.

  • For your own reading, do you prefer e-books or traditional paper/hardback books? My favourite is hardcover. If I can’t get hardcover, then I prefer ebook.

  • What are you reading at present? The Red Sun Rises by Victoria Kinnaird

  • What is your favourite book and why? I have too many to pick just one, but my favourite series is Mercy Thompson by Patricia Briggs. I love them because they’re a good mix of dark and light.

  • Do you write alone or in public? Alone.

  • Music or silence? Silence. I find music helpful for planning and plotting, but it distracts me while writing.

  • Goals of certain # of words a week or when inspiration strikes? I try to write one/two chapters a day.

  • What do your friends and family think of your writing? They are extremely supportive.

  • What advice would you give to your younger self? Write smaller. When I first started writing, I had no clue word count was even a thing.

  •  So, what have you written?

I have two books out right now. Dark Days, the first book in the Legions series. The other is We Will Gain Our Fury, the first of the Seers and Demigods series, co-written with Nicole Thorn.

pic

  • How can readers discover more about you and you work? Where can we buy or see them?

 

Facebook                Twitter                Amazon US Author Page

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to take part in this interview.

~

12524001_158184291218974_1542981353091667462_n

Sarah Hall has been writing since her early teens and plans to continue long past her death, via robot body. She spends her days daydreaming about conversations between fictional characters, and ignoring the condescending looks she gets from her cats when she does so. During her day in the unforgiving Arizona heat, she juggles her pets, writing, and her neurotic sometimes writing partner. She has no problems with said juggling, as the Force is with her.

~

Leave a Reply

