Pay It Forward · Pictures · Quotes · Review · Writing

Book Review: The Wolf and the Moon, by Kayla Bain-Vrba

33299485

~

Dag’s life is an endless series of battles, as he fights Challenge after Challenge for the amusement of others, his interest in life lost when he killed his own lover. But then, in the middle of his latest Challenge, he encounters a familiar face…

Publisher note: This story was previously published in the Bad Moon Rising anthology by Less Than Three Press.

~

Book – The Wolf and the Moon

Author – Kayla Bain-Vrba

Star rating – ★★★★★

No. of Pages – 71

Cover – Lovely!

POV – 3rd person, dual POV

Would I read it again – Yes!

Genre – LGBT, Roman-esque, Warrior, Romance

.

** COPY RECEIVED THROUGH NETGALLEY **

.

Well…gosh, that was a good read. Exciting, exhilarating, nerve-racking and full of heart-stopping tension and romance! I couldn’t have asked for more.

There was so much story in so few pages that I feel like I’ve just finished some epic novel. The characterisation was spot on, the world building was brilliant and I love the little tease of the cover that totally set me up for an idea that wasn’t real, but after reading the story, makes perfect sense. There’s a perfect balance of romance, action and Gladiatorial violence, while still being emotionally evocative and beautiful.

For me, the brilliance comes in the form of Myka. He’s the emotionally connective character that we first begin to feel for and experience through Dag’s POV. It takes a while before he gets his own POV and I can totally understand why, but it’s also part of the clever storytelling, letting us get an idea about him before we actually learn who he really is in his own words. Dag is the adrenaline fueled victor, loving the high life and yet being completely broken from the loss of Myka ten years ago. And, I absolutely love that we get plenty of flashbacks that let us see how they were ten years ago compared to how they are now, ten years later. Because the important story arc is how they deal with rediscovering each other so many years later and all the things that have happened in between.

I could gush about this story for days, but I’m going to leave it at this – this is an excellent story by a great writer that I’ll be keeping my eye on in the future. Not only will I be re-reading this, but I can honestly say that the epilogue destroyed me, emotionally, and I look forward to being slowly picked apart and put back together again sometime in the future.

~

Favourite Quote

““I’ll wait for you,” he whispered breathlessly. “In this world or the next. I’ll be waiting for you.””

““You can’t feel if you’re dying or not?” Maybe something more was wrong.

Myka looked away. “I’ve felt like I was dying a lot lately.””

~

Leave a Reply

