Pay It Forward · Writing

Book Showcase: The Red Sun Rises, by Victoria Kinnaird

Victoria Kinnaird is 29 years old and lives in Glasgow, Scotland. She has been writing since she was 15 years old. Victoria loves rock music, and 11 of her tattoos are related to bands that she loves!

Victoria’s debut novel “The Red Sun Rises” was released in September 2013 by Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing. The groundbreaking novel, which was praised for featuring an all male teen love triangle, became an Amazon international bestseller on release day. The couple at the heart of the story, Eren and Corbijn, were nominated for the Young Adult and Teen Reader’s Book Couple of the Year award in 2013 and were the only gay couple to be featured.

“The Red Sun Rises” was the first book in The Red Sun Rises Trilogy. The second book in the series, “The Red Sun Rises: Fire and Ash” was released in March 2014 and went on to win The Kindle Hub’s Best YA LGBT Book award in 2014. “(Birth) Day of the Dead” a standalone novella from The Red Sun Rises universe, was released on November 1st 2014.

The third novel in the series, “The Red Sun Rises: Seven Letters” was released by Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing in March 2015. The book went on to become an international bestseller, hitting #1 on Amazon UK’s YA LGBT chart on release day.

Victoria’s current release is “Fake It”, a YA rock’n’roll romance and the first book in a new series called “The Keswick Chronicles”.

The characters from “Fake It” made their first appearance in “The One and Only”, a short story featured in Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly’s Fractured Fairy Tales Anthology. The anthology was released on December 3rd, 2014. “Fake It” was released on January 23rd 2016. “Fake It” was a #1 hot new release on Amazon USA’s Young Adult Music Fiction chart, and hit #2 on the hot new release chart on Amazon USA’s LGBT YA chart. It would go on to achieve 5 Star status with Reader’s Favorite. “Fake It” was also a Rainbow Awards 2016 Finalist, receiving an honourable mention in the judging stages of the competition.


The Red Sun Rises Series

(Vampire/Supernatural, YA)


Book 1 ~ The Red Sun Rises

There shall come a child, a son of the Mother and the Night…


Eren Anderson is a freak among freaks. At 17 years old, he doesn’t fit in with his peers in the tiny town of All Hallows and despite being born into it, he most certainly doesn’t fit in among The Order of Our Mother, the secret nature worshipping society that has harnessed the ability cast spells and believes vampires are not only real, but their deadliest enemies. Eren is turned into a vampire after an attack by the local coven master, but that is the least of his worries…

In a post-Twilight world, “The Red Sun Rises” is a YA novel intended to give vampires their bite back but it should not be read as simply another vampire novel. “The Red Sun Rises” is a story about growing up, responsibility, falling in love, facing your fears and taking fate into your own hands.


Book 2 ~ Fire and Ash

How far would you go to save the man you love?


Eren Anderson thought he could leave his troubles in All Hallows. He was wrong. For teen vampire Eren, his boyfriend Corbijn and best friend Andy, Paris seemed like the perfect place to escape to, but the City of Light has darkness in its heart. While Eren finds himself struggling to deal with the horror he witnessed in his home town and fighting to reign in his power to cast, a surprising new enemy makes moves to destroy the one thing Eren can’t live without – Corbijn. With The Order of Our Mother refusing to help save him, Eren, Corbijn, Andy and Order rebel Tamesis unlock a source of power which hasn’t been called on in over one hundred years.

“The Red Sun Rises: Fire and Ash” is the second book in The Red Sun Rises Trilogy and the sequel to Victoria Kinnaird’s international bestselling debut “The Red Sun Rises”. Join Eren as he challenges The Order, accepts his fate and answers the terrifying question: how far would you go to save the man you love?


Book 2.5 ~ (Birth)Day of the Dead


It’s been a while since Eren Anderson stirred up a bit of trouble. As he prepares to celebrate his 21st birthday, the leader of the nature-worshipping secret society The Order of Our Mother approaches him to ask a pretty big favour. A spate of vampire attacks in Mexico has stunned the Oaxaca branch of The Order and a startling discovery leads them to believe the creatures are planning to attack on Día De Los Muertos. With Andy, Jasper and vampire non-boyfriend Corbijn in tow, Eren heads to Mexico to take on the cihuateteo, and if he’s (un)lucky, he might even come face to face with the God of Hell himself…

This edition includes “(Birth) Day of the Dead”, a brand new short story from The Red Sun Rises Series, along with the complete first chapter from forthcoming novel, The Red Sun Rises: Seven Letters, the last book in Victoria Kinnaird’s international bestselling series. This story can be read as a standalone novella.


Book 3 ~ Seven Letters

His time has come.


War has returned to All Hallows.
Eren Anderson, his vampire partner Corbijn and his best friend Andy have spent the past 7 years in relative peace, working for The Order of Our Mother in Washington. It seems like Eren may finally get the quiet life he craves, until a sudden loss tears his world apart.
Still reeling from the brutal death of someone he loves, Eren will find himself drawn into a battle that has been centuries in the making. When the truth about Eren’s power is revealed, the vampire who has never been accepted by The Order will have to decide whether or not to accept his fate, or turn his back on the secret society once and for all.
“The Red Sun Rises: Seven Letters” is the last novel in The Red Sun Rises Series, Victoria Kinnaird’s international bestselling debut series.


Boxset / Compendium

Three boys. Two sets of fangs. One epic love story.


Eren Anderson is a freak among freaks.

If being unable to cast spells despite being born into a nature worshipping, spell casting secret society was bad, being turned into a vampire at the age of 17 was definitely worse.

And that was just the beginning…

* * *

This special anniversary edition boxset combines all three bestselling, full length novels from The Red Sun Rises Series, along with short stories “(Birth)Day of the Dead”, “The Paperwork”, “The Price” and “Show ’em Your Teeth”, a Red Sun Rises/Fake It crossover that’s exclusive to this edition!

The boxset also includes Red Sun Rises character artwork by Alexis Shellard and an essay on the series by Nerd Girl blogger Cianna Elizabeth.


Series Links

International Series Link (Amazon) – Boxset

International Series Link (Amazon) – Individual Books

Goodreads Series Link

YouTube Series Book Trailers


To stalk Victoria, check out the following sites:

Facebook     Goodreads

Twitter     YouTube   Instagram


You can read excerpts, view book trailers and see all her upcoming releases on her Website






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s