Goals · how to · Pay It Forward · Writing

Goals Accomplished in 2017 (So Far)

2016 was a tough year. I didn’t get a whole lot done in the summer or the build up, because of the building work going on and the constant battle with preparing the house for the major overhaul it was about to go through. Then, afterwards, it took until Christmas to get boxes unpacked, things set right and everything back in its place along with the decorating the new conservatory.

2017 was quiet, in comparison.

Here’s my list of what I did and did not get off my To Do list for the year (so far):

1.

GOAL: I wanted to finish 7 books (Worship, A Wolf Without Faith, Evanders: A New Term 1, Some Beautiful Boy, Lost, Sanguine Eyes, The Tales of Talyn 2), and to start and finish 6 books (Shadow and Shade, Through the Fire, The Things He Couldn’t Say, By Appointment Only 3, Dalliance, Creatures of the Night).

Well, I finished Shadow and Shade pre-2017, so that one is crossed off. Then I managed to finish and polish up a new novel for the A Royal Craving universe, A Royal Miracle. After that, I went straight into fixing up Decadent: The Reunion, the last book in the series. I was able to write Books 1-4 in the Creatures of the Night series within one month. Then I moved on and finished up Worship and A Wolf Without Faith, the latter of which turned out to be book 1 in a new series, Nynnyaw. I also fixed a book not on my list – Esthim. As for the others…well, I ended up coming up with more new stories than I had planned to write this year. I’ve now adapted my list to add the new books: Typo, Pleading Ignorance, Moirai (a 4 book series) as well as Unmasked, Falling and The Enemy of My Enemy.

~

2.

GOAL: Read 50 paperback books from my bookshelf.

Well, this is currently a big, fat no. But, I have managed to read 7, which is progress. I knew at the start that 50 was being optimistic, but I’m hopeful that with the last of the big series books on my review list about to be completed, I’ll have more time to sit down to read the paperbacks I want to read. By the end of August, for sure, I will have much more time to pick my books more freely.

~

3.

GOAL: Read 50 e-books from my TBR list that I’ve already bought.

This is pretty much the same as the list above, except that I’ve managed to cross off 29 books so far. Again, I’ll be hoping to get more off that list after August, especially since I have a long list of books that are under 100 pages, so it will be easier to fit them in during days when I don’t have a lot of time.

4.

GOAL: To completely finish my Netgalley TBR list.

I actually feel pretty good about this, because I changed my ‘tracking’ form, outright deleting books the moment I’ve completed them. I’ve completed 53 this year, which is a great number, although I still have a shocking…and don’t faint…228 books left!! AAAAARRRRRGGGHHHH!

I know, I know…I’m addicted to Netgalley. I’m constantly requesting books throughout the year and then being approved long after I’ve forgotten about it. Then I get excited about it again, only to end up forgetting why I requested it in the first place, because there are so many and I work from shortest to longest, because I can slip in the short ones whenever I don’t have a lot of time. However, I’m aiming to get my Netgalley Feedback Ratio up to 40% by the end of the year. I’m currently at 30% so it’s a leap. Especially since every time I request a book, my ratio gets harder to maintain and reach, but I’m always aiming high.

~

Well, overall it’s not so bad. Not when you consider that I’ve read a little over 80 books for Divine Magazine. Thankfully, I still have five whole months to make a dent in my goals. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

